PREVIEW: Croft British Rallycross Championship Finalé and British Rallycross Grand Prix

The 2016 MSA British Rallycross Championship moves to Croft in Yorkshire for its annual end of season action with the final round of British RX taking place on Saturday before the British Rallycross Grand Prix takes place on Sunday with plenty in store.

Dan Rooke has already sealed the MSA Supercar title last time out at Pembrey, however second place is still up for grabs with Julian Godfrey leading the way ahead of Dave Bellerby and former champion Ollie O’Donovan. Godfrey, a five time consecutive British RX Champion has 160 points whilst Bellerby, who is in his first season of Supercar isn’t far behind on 152 points whilst O’Donovan has 147 points and was victorious last time out at Pembrey.

Liam Doran in the LD Motorsports Citroen DS3 Supercar. Credit: IMG / FIA World RX

To further add to the excitement of what has been one of the biggest Supercar fields in many seasons, former World RX driver Liam Doran has entered his LD Motorsports Citroen DS3 for both the final round of British RX and the British RX GP on Sunday. With Rooke having been so fast in what is his first season in the class, it will be exciting to see how the youngster goes up against the experienced Doran. Keep an eye out for Kevin Procter to return to form also as he dominated the opening round of the series back in March in his Ford Fiesta.

The MSA Supernational title is going to the wire at the Yorkshire venue this weekend where Championship leader Tony Lynch has led since mid season in his Ford KA. However the Wigan racer failed to finish last time out in Wales and he will be looking for a solid finish to secure the title as Paige Bellerby leads the charge to try and stop Lynch from taking his first title in the class. Guy Corner is also in the mix for the victory and will be looking to steal the show. Joe Cunningham is one of several drivers who has confirmed that they will return for the final weekend of the year, leading to one of the biggest fields this season.

Tristan Ovenden 2016 BRX R6 Lydden Hill Super1600 Championship
Tristan Ovenden in the Suzuki Swift Super 1600 at Lydden Hill. Credit: Matt Bristow/Rubber Duck Does Automotive Photography

In the Super1600 class, title honours will be fought out between Tristan Ovenden in his Suzuki Swift and Paul Coney in his Vauxhall Corsa. 2015 Champion Craig Lomax has had a difficult season and has an outside chance of taking the title whilst local drivers Michael Boak and Phil Chicken have both seen action in Europe this season and will be looking to take a victory at their local event.

British F4 race winner Jamie Caroline will make his rallycross debut in the RX150 Rallycross Championship, where Chrissy Palmer has already been crowned champion for 2016. Meanwhile The title fight in the MSA Junior Rallycross Championship is set to go down to the wire, with Sam Jones and Tom Constantine separated by just six points coming into this weekend. Nathan Heathcote is closing on his first ever rallycross championship title in the Swift Sport Rallycross Championship which will see another bumper entry for the final weekend of competition, however in one of the most competitive classes on the bill, Heathcote will have to fight off stiff competition from Simon Ovenden, Aidan Hills and Jack Brown.

Barry Stewart - Ray Morgan 2016 Retro Rallycross Lydden Hill
Ray Morgan Pursuing Barry Stewart in the Retro Rallycross Championship ay Lydden Hill. Credit: Matt Bristow/Rubber Duck Does Automotive Photography

The Retro Rallycross Championship will have its final round on the same day of the British Rallycross Grand Prix where some of the most iconic machinery from yesteryear will be in action. Two-time John Button Memorial Trophy winner Ray Morgan looks certain to be crowned as the first Retro Rallycross Champion against what will be the strongest entry for the class this year with Barry Stewart amongst the strongest of challengers in his Porsche 911.

The BMW Mini Rallycoss Championship will be decided between brothers Kris and Keifer Hudson who have fought all season long, whilst Bradley Durdin will be looking to take his second victory of the season after joining the class mid season. The Hot Hatch Rallycross Championship will be another title decided at Croft between either Tomasz Wielgosz, Graham Rumsey or Robert Potyra whilst Jason Bowes will make his debut in the class during the weekend.

The full entry list for the weekends action can be found at the MSA British Rallycross Championship website here.