Pulcini secures title with dominant Jerez victory

Leonardo Pulcini - Credit: FOTOSPEEDY

Leonardo Pulcini got the jump at the start on pole sitter Ferdinand Habsburg and controlled the second race of the weekend at the Circuito de Jerez to clinch the 2016 EuroFormula Open championship in style.

The Italian had qualified alongside his final championship rival during Sunday morning’s qualifying session, and the Campos Racing driver got a good getaway, and entered turn one ahead of Habsburg and never looked back.

Pulcini was untroubled throughout, controlling the race without appearing under pressure, ultimately winning for a seventh time in 2016 by 2.816 seconds.

Habsburg endured a lonely race to second for Drivex School, but the real fight on track was the battle for third between Harrison Scott and Colton Herta that went all the way to the chequered flag.

Scott got a jump on the Carlin driver at the start, and then withstood the pressure despite Herta appearing to have better pace than the Teo Martin Motorsport, but try as he might, the American couldn’t find a way passed the Briton.

Vasily Romanov took fifth for Drivex School, withstanding pressure of his own in the early stages from Diego Menchaca before edging away to the tune of 3.175 seconds, while the Campos Racing driver was forced to be wary of Tatiana Calderon behind, who finished seventh for RP Motorsport.

Ye Hongli made a good start to finish eighth for BVM Racing ahead of Carlin’s Ameya Vaidyanathan, while Tanart Sathienthirakul took tenth for RP Motorsport, finishing ahead of a trio of drivers who all were handed a one-second time penalty for exceeding track limits at turn ten – Keyvan Andres, Nikita Zlobin and Daniel Pronenko.

Race one podium finisher Damiano Fioravanti was a first lap casualty this time around after getting tangled up in an incident with Julio Moreno. Fioravanti was out on the spot while Moreno was forced to pit for repairs and ended finishing at the back of the field.

Leonardo Pulcini Celebrates on the podium - Credit: FOTOSPEEDY
Leonardo Pulcini Celebrates on the podium – Credit: FOTOSPEEDY

Circuito de Jerez Race 2 Result

18Leonardo PulciniITACampos Racing29:45.106
262Ferdinand HabsburgAUTDrivex School+2.816
345Harrison ScottGBRTeo Martin Motorsport+12.371
498Colton HertaUSACarlin+13.086
591Vasily RomanovRUSDrivex School+15.055
67Diego MenchacaMEXCampos Racing+18.230
74Tatiana CalderonCOLRP Motorsport+19.575
821Ye HongliCHNBVM Racing+24.116
951Ameya VaidyanathanINDCarlin+27.005
105Tanart SathienthriakulTHARP Motorsport+36.384
1147Keyvan AndresGERCarlin+38.803
1272Nikita ZlobinRUSTeo Martin Motorsport+39.623
1320Daniel PronenkoRUSBVM Racing+40.211
149Gulhuseyn AbdullayeuAZECampos Racing+46.502
152Kusiri KantadheeTHARP Motorsport+1:00.100
166Julio MorenoECUCampos Racing+1:02.206
RET1Antoni PtakPOLRP MotorsportRetired
RET3Damiano FioravantiITARP MotorsportRetired