EuroFormula Open

Pulcini withstands Fioravanti challenge for opening Monza victory

1 Mins read
Leonardo Pulcini - Credit: FOTOSPEEDY

Leonardo Pulcini put in a faultless display as he clinched his fifth victory of the 2016 EuroFormula Open season and extend his lead on top of the championship standings.

The Campos Racing driver battled into the lead early at the Autodromo Nazionale Monza ahead of pole sitter Damiano Fioravanti and Sam MacLeod, and was able to control the race from the front thereafter, clinching victory by 1.120 seconds.

Fioravanti did not let Pulcini get away but was forced to settle for second for RP Motorsport, his best result of the season to date, but behind the leading duo, it was a classic Monza slipstreaming affair, with Ferdinand Habsburg ultimately coming out on top to complete the podium for Drivex School.

Enaam Ahmed equalled his best result of the season in fourth for RP Motorsport but only after a great battle with team-mates Antoni Ptak and Tanart Sathienthirakul and Campos Racing’s Diego Menchaca.

Polish driver Ptak ultimately claimed fifth ahead of Mexican racer Menchaca, while Thai driver Sathienthirakul ultimately finished at the back of this chain of cars in seventh.

Ye Hongli was eighth for BVM Racing at the front of another chain of cars, with Nikita Zlobin ninth in the sole Teo Martin Motorsport machine, while Nikita Troitskiy completed the top ten in the second Drivex School entry.

MacLeod’s early promise, including leading on the first lap, ultimately led to nothing as the Fortec Motorsports driver found himself shuffled down the order and finished twelfth.

Carlin driver Colton Herta also finished outside the points after being forced to pit for a new front wing after a clash with one of the RP drivers heading into Parabolica.

Autodromo Nazionale Monza Race 1 Result

[table id=1542 /]

Related posts
EuroFormula Open

Ye Secures Double Victory at the Red Bull Ring, Maldonado Takes First EuroFormula Open Podiums

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye has now won five out of six races to start the 2020 EuroFormula Open season after a double victory at the Red Bull Ring.
EuroFormula Open

Dunner, Ye Continue Positive Start to 2020 for CryptoTower Racing

3 Mins read
CryptoTower Racing took both victories as the EuroFormula Open series hit the Circuit Paul Ricard in France for round two of 2020.
EuroFormula Open

Ye Welcomes in New Era of EuroFormula Open with Double Victory in Hungary

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye had a perfect weekend at the Hungaroring as the 2020 EuroFormula Open season finally got underway.

Leave a Reply