Formula Renault 2.0

Sacha Fenestraz: “A great way to conclude the year”

1 Mins read
Sacha Fenestraz - Credit: Clement Luck / DPPI

Sacha Fenestraz ended the season in the best possible manner as he converted pole position into victory at Estoril on Sunday.

The Tech 1 Racing added his victory in Portugal to his earlier triumph around the streets of Monte Carlo in May, and was also happy that he was able to take his first ‘real’ pole position of the season, having inherited the previous one, also in Monaco.

Fenestraz had spun away a promising result in race one on Saturday, ultimately finishing seventh when in contention for a podium, but more than made amends on Sunday by taking the chequered flag first in tricky damp conditions.

“To take my first ‘real’ pole position and win the final race of the season is a great way to conclude the year,” said Fenestraz on “It was a good weekend despite the difficult weather conditions.

“The hardest thing today was managing the tyres because the track dried between the start and finish. You had to find the few areas where it was possible to cool the tyres and I managed to do it.

“Overall, it was a solid first season even though I made mistakes, including this weekend. If I return next year, the goal will be to win the title.”

12247 posts

About author
Thirty-something motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1, Formula Renault 2.0 and Formula 3. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansEuropean Le Mans SeriesFormula Renault 2.0Interviews

Confident de Sadeleer ready for LMP2 jump with United Autosports

3 Mins read
Hugo de Sadeleer is preparing himself for his rookie LMP2 campaign in ELMS in 2017, with his deal with United Autosports also providing him with his 24 Hours of Le Mans debut.
Formula Renault 2.0Season Review

2016 Formula Renault 2.0 Review – Norris does the double

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and NEC championships, both of which were dominated and won by Lando Norris.
BTCCFIA WECFIA World Rally ChampionshipFormula 1Formula Renault 2.0MotoGP

2016’s Best Recognised At Annual Autosport Awards

2 Mins read
Nico Rosberg, Sebastian Ogier, Lando Norris and Gordon Shedden were amongst the winners in the 2016 Autosport Awards.