Shwartzman leads on opening day at Estoril

Robert Shwartzman - Credit: Jean Michel Le Meur / DPPI

Young Russian driver Robert Shwartzman set the quickest time of the day as the final round of the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 season got underway with two collective tests at Estoril on Friday.

The SMP Racing-backed Josef Kaufmann Racing driver was the pacesetter in the second session at the Portuguese track as driver adapted to the circuit, with the majority making their first appearance there.

Harrison Scott had led the way in the first session for his AVF by Adrian Vallés squad, with his time of 1:38.279 seeing him finish ahead of R-ace GP’s Max Defourny by 0.064 seconds, while Jehan Daruvala of Josef Kaufmann Racing was third fastest, a further 0.114 seconds back.

Debutant Alexander Peroni was an excellent fourth for TS Corse, a team also making their first Eurocup appearance of the season, while the top five was completed by Julien Falchero of R-ace GP.

The second session was a much quicker affair, with Shwartzman setting a best time of 1:36.472, with Defourny again slotting into second ahead of Daruvala, while Dorian Boccolacci of Tech 1 Racing was fourth ahead of 2016 champion Lando Norris of Josef Kaufmann Racing.

Twenty-two cars are participating this weekend, with four Britons in the field with Norris, Scott and Will Palmer being joined this weekend by Frank Bird.

Estoril Collective Test 1 Result

122Harrison ScottGBRAVF by Adrian Valles1:38.279
233Max DefournyBELR-Ace GP1:38.343
31Jehan DaruvalaINDJosef Kaufmann Racing1:38.457
448Alexander PeroniAUSTS Corse1:38.797
516Julien FalcheroFRAR-Ace GP1:38.846
662Ferdinand HabsburgAUTFortec Motorsports1:38.931
721Henrique ChavesPORAVF by Adrian Valles1:38.944
89Dorian BoccolacciFRATech 1 Racing1:39.005
93Robert ShwartzmanRUSJosef Kaufmann Racing1:39.019
1014Will PalmerGBRR-Ace GP1:39.050
115Aleksandr VartanyanRUSFortec Motorsports1:39.065
122Lando NorrisGBRJosef Kaufmann Racing1:39.143
1318James AllenAUSJD Motorsport1:39.226
1411Sacha FenestrazSWITech 1 Racing1:39.254
1547Marcus ArmstrongNZLR-Ace GP1:39.427
166Bruno BaptistaBRZFortec Motorsports1:39.429
1712Gabriel AubryFRATech 1 Racing1:39.432
187Nikita TroitskiyRUSFortec Motorsports1:39.570
1917Alexey KorneevRUSJD Motorsport1:39.575
2049Frank BirdGBRFortec Motorsports1:39.739
2110Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing1:39.841
2245Guislain CordeelBELGMMA Formula Racing1:41.178

Estoril Collective Test 2 Result

13Robert ShwartzmanRUSJosef Kaufmann Racing1:36.472
233Max DefournyBELR-Ace GP1:36.484
31Jehan DaruvalaINDJosef Kaufmann Racing1:36.502
49Dorian BoccolacciFRATech 1 Racing1:36.622
52Lando NorrisGBRJosef Kaufmann Racing1:36.624
616Julien FalcheroFRAR-Ace GP1:36.737
747Marcus ArmstrongNZLR-Ace GP1:36.855
811Sacha FenestrazSWITech 1 Racing1:36.864
912Gabriel AubryFRATech 1 Racing1:37.038
1021Henrique ChavesPORAVF by Adrian Valles1:37.041
1118James AllenAUSJD Motorsport1:37.063
1214Will PalmerGBRR-Ace GP1:37.116
1322Harrison ScottGBRAVF by Adrian Valles1:37.132
1410Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing1:37.136
156Bruno BaptistaBRZFortec Motorsports1:37.245
167Nikita TroitskiyRUSFortec Motorsports1:37.441
1762Ferdinand HabsburgAUTFortec Motorsports1:37.442
1817Alexey KorneevRUSJD Motorsport1:37.574
195Aleksandr VartanyanRUSFortec Motorsports1:37.775
2049Frank BirdGBRFortec Motorsports1:38.025
2145Guislain CordeelBELGMMA Formula Racing1:39.076
2248Alexander PeroniAUSTS Corse1:39.402