21 Races from 7 Weekends as Zandvoort drops off ADAC F4 Calendar

Credit: ADAC Motorsports

The 2017 ADAC Formula 4 calendar has been revealed, with the championship hosting seven rounds of three races throughout the season. The news means that one of the non-German races have been scrapped for next season.

In total, this means that the series will no longer announce a ‘half-time champion’, with Austria’s Red Bull Ring remaining as the only foreign circuit.

Despite this, there has been no other major change of location, with the series still kicking off at Oschersleben in April. The season finale, for the third year in a row will once again be at Hockenheim in support of ADAC GT Masters.

Sachsenring, which was the second round last season has moved back to the end of the season as the penultimate event, a few weeks after the Nurburgring. The final two rounds will also take place on back-to-back weekends in September ensuring that competition for the title should remain strong.

Finally, the second round at the Lausitzring will take place on the same weekend as the Lausitzring Motorsport Festival in which DTM will headline, allowing the drivers to prove their ability in front of factory teams.

The 2017 season also retains the number of cars allowed to race together at 35. This will ensure that qualifying races may return next season if this threshold is once again met. Though with an absence of Mick Schumacher, local TV coverage may reduce, along with the interest.

As for this years graduates, the top two; Joey Mawson and Schumacher, along with Kim-Luis Schramm, Felipe Drugovich and Juri Vips have been competing in MRF Challenge. After Bahrain, Schumacher has the points lead, for collecting two wins. Meanwhile fourth place Thomas Preining has been announced as a member of the Porsche Junior Team.

2017 ADAC Formula 4 Calendar

1Oschersleben28-30 April
2Lausitzring19-21 April
3Red Bull Ring9-11 June
4Oschersleben7-9 July
5Nurburgring4-6 August
6Sachsenring15-17 September
7Hockenheim22-24 September