EuroFormula Open

Boccolacci penalty hands victory to Habsburg

1 Mins read
Dorian Boccolacci (45) lost his win to Ferdinand Habsburg (62) after a collision with Colton Herta (98) - Credit: FOTOSPEEDY

Dorian Boccolacci has lost his race victory at the Circuit de Catalunya on Saturday after stewards adjudged him responsible for causing a collision with Colton Herta.

The Frenchman, who was making his EuroFormula Open race debut, tipped the young American into a spin heading into the chicane that dropped Herta to third, a position he would hold until the chequered flag.

Boccolacci inherited the lead as a result ahead of Ferdinand Habsburg, but the five-second penalty for the Teo Martin Motorsport driver promoted the Drivex School driver to top spot, his second victory of the season and his first since Paul Ricard in June.

Carlin Motorsport driver Herta, who had been asked to move aside for Habsburg earlier in the race after being adjudged to have gained an advantage at the first corner by running across the run-off only, inherited second place,

Herta had been looking to allow Habsburg passed, but a mistake from the Austrian dropped him behind Boccolacci, and thus in the firing line for the attack at the chicane that caused the spin and the subsequent penalty.

Ironically, with Boccolacci ineligible for points, it does not affect the amount of points scored by any of the drivers in the field.

Circuit de Catalunya Race 1 Result (Amended)

[table id=1678 /]

13769 posts

About author
Long time motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1 and the occassional other series. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
EuroFormula Open

Ye Secures Double Victory at the Red Bull Ring, Maldonado Takes First EuroFormula Open Podiums

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye has now won five out of six races to start the 2020 EuroFormula Open season after a double victory at the Red Bull Ring.
EuroFormula Open

Dunner, Ye Continue Positive Start to 2020 for CryptoTower Racing

3 Mins read
CryptoTower Racing took both victories as the EuroFormula Open series hit the Circuit Paul Ricard in France for round two of 2020.
EuroFormula Open

Ye Welcomes in New Era of EuroFormula Open with Double Victory in Hungary

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye had a perfect weekend at the Hungaroring as the 2020 EuroFormula Open season finally got underway.