Boccolacci storms to rookie victory in Barcelona

by Paul Hensby

Dorian Boccolacci had a superb debut race in the EuroFormula Open championship as he drove to race victory in race one at the Circuit de Catalunya on Saturday.

Starting from fifth on the grid, the Frenchman moved his Teo Martin Motorsport machine into third as the field made their way to the first corner, and after a mistake by Ferdinand Habsburg, moved into second.

Then race leader Colton Herta was asked to relinquish the lead to Habsburg after gaining an advantage at turn one on the opening lap, but as he slowed to allow the Austrian through, Boccolacci tagged the American into a spin at the chicane just before the final turn, an incident that is under investigation by the stewards.

Herta rejoined in third, and finished on the tail of both Boccolacci and Habsburg as the leading trio were in a class of their own, separated by just 1.466 seconds at the chequered flag.

Damiano Fioravanti drove a lonely race to fourth for RP Motorsport after Campos Racing duo Leonardo Pulcini and Diego Menchaca were both forced to pit for repairs in the early laps, the former with a damaged front wing and the latter with a puncture, a result of possible contact between the two between turns two and three on the opening lap.

This left Carlin duo Keyvan Andres and Ameya Vaidyanathan to finish fifth and sixth, ahead of Tatiana Calderon, who got the best of RP Motorsport team-mate Antoni Ptak on the penultimate lap with a great move at the end of the back straight.

Julio Moreno was the only points scorer for Campos Racing in ninth ahead of Nikita Zlobin of Teo Martin Motorsport. With Boccolacci ineligible for points, the final point went to BVM Racing’s Daniel Pronenko.

Circuit de Catalunya Race 1 Result

145Dorian BoccolacciFRATeo Martin Motorsport29:14.516
262Ferdinand HabsburgAUTDrivex School+0.417
398Colton HertaUSACarlin+1.466
43Damiano FioravantiITARP Motorsport+8.334
547Keyvan AndresGERCarlin+18.185
651Ameya VaidyanathanINDCarlin+18.826
74Tatiana CalderonCOLRP Motorsport+21.522
81Antoni PtakPOLRP Motorsport+22.904
96Julio MorenoECUCampos Racing+23.455
1072Nikita ZlobinRUSTeo Martin Motorsport+24.162
1120Daniel PronenkoRUSBVM Racing+24.927
1291Vasily RomanovRUSDrivex School+25.327
135Tanart SathienthriakulTHARP Motorsport+33.243
1471Xavier LloverasESPTeo Martin Motorsport+33.873
152Kusiri KantadheeTHARP Motorsport+40.057
168Leonardo PulciniITACampos Racing+45.507
179Gulhuseyn AbdullayeuAZECampos Racing+47.678
187Diego MenchacaMEXCampos Racing+1:07.273

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More