Canet Beats Binder for Valencia Moto3 Pole

Aron Canet became the tenth different rider to claim a Moto3 pole position in 2016 after pipping Brad Binder in the dying seconds of qualifying in Valencia. The Spanish rookie emerged on top of a frantic session which saw one second cover the top 27 riders, setting the stage for a chaotic group battle in tomorrow’s race.

Juanfran Guevara had been the fastest rider through free practice but the RBA rider didn’t feature in the battle for pole, his FP3 benchmark being beaten inside the opening nine minutes by Enea Bastianini. The Italian is chasing the championship runner-up spot tomorrow but Joan Mir has his eyes on the Rookie-of-the-Year title and moved himself to the top of the leaderboard ten minutes later.

Mir was soon demoted by Philipp Oettl who clocked a 1:39.552 and with traffic dominating the latter stages, the German looked on course for his second career pole. Binder changed that though, finding enough clear track to set a 1:39.279 on his penultimate lap while several other riders relegated Oettl still further. The final word would go to Canet though who edged in front of the world champion by eighteen thousandths of a second to secure his maiden Grand Prix pole.

Hiroki Ono snatched the final front row spot ahead of Nicolo Bulega who seized the advantage in the rookie battle with fourth spot. Practice pacesetter Guevara salvaged fifth after a quiet session while Niccolo Antonelli bumped Oettl to the third row in seventh.

Bo Bendsneyder will start eighth on the second Red Bull Ajo KTM with Bastianini and Mir shuffled back to ninth and tenth despite holding provisional pole earlier on.


Moto3 Gran Premio Motul de la Comunitat Valenciana (Qualifying Result)

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
144. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:39.261
241. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:39.279
376. Hiroki OnoHondaHonda Team Asia1:39.383
48. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR461:39.420
558. Juanfran GuevaraKTMRBA Racing Team1:39.463
623. Niccolo AntonelliHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:39.524
765. Philipp OettlKTMSchedl GP Racing1:39.552
864. Bo BendsneyderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:39.553
933. Enea BastianiniHondaGresini Racing Moto31:39.559
1036. Joan MirKTMLeopard Racing1:39.577
1148. Lorenzo Dalla PortaKTMSky Racing Team VR461:39.606
124. Fabio Di GiannantonioHondaGresini Racing Moto31:39.616
1398. Karel HanikaKTMFreudenberg Racing Team1:39.660
1419. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA Racing Team1:39.662
1588. Jorge MartinMahindraPull & Bear Aspar Mahindra1:39.662
1621. Francesco BagnaiaMahindraPull & Bear Aspar Mahindra1:39.736
179. Jorge NavarroHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:39.793
1816. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR461:39.794
1931. Raul FernandezKTMMH6 Team1:39.835
2011. Livio LoiHondaRW Racing GP BV1:39.838
2163. Vicente PerezPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint1:39.911
2224. Tatsuki SuzukiMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker1:39.925
2320. Fabio QuartararoKTMLeopard Racing1:39.927
2484. Jakub KornfeilHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:39.997
2589. Khairul Idham PawiHondaHonda Team Asia1:40.163
2612. Albert ArenasPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint1:40.236
2755. Andrea LocatelliKTMLeopard Racing1:40.261
2895. Jules DaniloHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:40.300
2940. Darryn BinderMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate1:40.349
307. Adam NorrodinHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:40.957
3126. Dani SaezKTMGA Competicion1:41.659
3299. Enzo BoulomMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker1:41.789
3377. Lorenzo PetrarcaMahindra3570 Team Italia1:42.444
3443. Stefano ValtuliniMahindra3570 Team Italia1:42.637
3542. Marcos RamirezMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate1:43.466