Habsburg secures final EuroFormula Open pole of 2016

Ferdinand Habsburg - Credit: FOTOSPEEDY

Vice-champion Ferdinand Habsburg will start the final race of the 2016 EuroFormula Open season from pole position at the Circuit de Catalunya.

The Austrian set a best time of 1:57.126 in a wet session at the Spanish circuit to put his Drivex School machine to the front of the field, and will be looking to end the season with a double victory after inheriting the race one win on Saturday following a post-race penalty for Dorian Boccolacci.

Joining Habsburg on the front row will be Carlin Motorsports driver Colton Herta, with the American ending 0.557 seconds adrift of the Austrian when the chequered flag fell, while 2016 champion Leonardo Pulcini was 0.836 seconds down in his Campos Racing machine in third.

RP Motorsport duo Antoni Ptak and Tatiana Calderon will line-up fourth and fifth, 1.068 and 1.246 seconds down respectively, ahead of Teo Martin Motorsport’s Boccolacci, who will looking to move forward and make amends for losing Saturday’s victory from the third row of the grid.

Vasily Romanov will start seventh for Drivex School ahead of Diego Menchaca, who was eighth fastest for Campos Racing, while Keyvan Andres of Carlin and Tanart Sathienthirakul of RP Motorsport complete the top ten ahead of Damiano Fioravanti and Ameya Vaidyanathan.

Circuit de Catalunya Race 2 Qualifying Result

162Ferdinand HabsburgAUTDrivex School1:57.126
298Colton HertaUSACarlin1:57.683
38Leonardo PulciniITACampos Racing1:57.962
41Antoni PtakPOLRP Motorsport1:58.194
54Tatiana CalderonCOLRP Motorsport1:58.372
645Dorian BoccolacciFRATeo Martin Motorsport1:58.499
791Vasily RomanovRUSDrivex School1:58.547
87Diego MenchacaMEXCampos Racing1:58.672
947Keyvan AndresGERCarlin1:58.680
105Tanart SathienthriakulTHARP Motorsport1:58.773
113Damiano FioravantiITARP Motorsport1:58.829
1251Ameya VaidyanathanINDCarlin1:58.853
1371Xavier LloverasESPTeo Martin Motorsport1:59.077
1472Nikita ZlobinRUSTeo Martin Motorsport1:59.402
152Kusiri KantadheeTHARP Motorsport1:59.607
1620Daniel PronenkoRUSBVM Racing2:00.027
176Julio MorenoECUCampos Racing2:00.254
189Gulhuseyn AbdullayeuAZECampos Racing2:01.407