Global RallycrossRace of Champions

Scott Speed added to ROC lineup

1 Mins read
Scott Speed will again be defending champion - Credit: Larry Chen/Red Bull GRC

Two-time Red Bull Global Rallycross champion Scott Speed will make his Race of Champions début early next year.

The former-Formula One driver is the latest driver to be announced for the event, alongside Andretti Autosport stablemate Alexander Rossi, who races for the American organisation in IndyCar.

“I am beyond excited to join the Race Of Champions. Being selected to represent the USA on home soil is such an honour,” said Speed. “I have always been a huge fan of this event: having so many greats of motor racing in one place is a very rare thing. I am sure that Miami will prove to be a fantastic host of such a prestigious event.”

Speed took his second consecutive Red Bull GRC title last month after defeating team mate Tanner Foust in the season finale in Los Angeles.

The ex-NASCAR man won’t be the only Red Bull GRC representative at Miami Marlins Park on January 21-22.

New Hampshire 2012 winner Travis Pastrana has already been confirmed for the event, having previously competed at Race Of Champions in 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2010, and 2011. He was also scheduled to compete at Wembley Stadium in 2008 but had to withdraw through injury.

Avatar photo
333 posts

About author
Dominik Wilde is a professional motorsport and motoring writer that has covered events in both the UK and USA. His main focus for the Checkered Flag is covering Americas Rallycross and Nitro Rallycross.
Related posts
Race of Champions

No Pite Havsbad for 2024 Race of Champions

1 Mins read
After two editions on the snow and ice of Pite Havsbad, the 2024 Race of Champions will have to take place somewhere else due to disputes about the land.
Race of Champions

2023 Race of Champions: Mattias Ekstrom joins all-time win leaders

3 Mins read
After beating Mick Schumacher in the final, Mattias Ekström is now tied with Sébastien Loeb and Didier Auriol for the most Race of Champions individual tournament victories with five.
Race of Champions

2023 Race of Champions: Solbergs go back-to-back for Norway

2 Mins read
For the second straight year, Petter and Oliver Solberg won the Race of Champions’ Nations Cup for Team Norway after beating Team All Stars’ Felipe Drugovich and Thierry Neuville.