Trio announced for Campos Racing 2017 campaign

Petru Florescu will race for Campos Racing in 2017 - Credit: FOTOSPEEDY

Campos Racing, who took Leonardo Pulcini to the 2016 EuroFormula Open Drivers’ championship, has announced three of its drivers that will compete with the outfit in 2017.

Romanian Petru Florescu will be joined by Brazilian duo Matheus Iorio and Thiago Vivacqua in a strong-looking line-up for the 2017 season.

Florescu returns to EuroFormula Open after making two appearances last year with Teo Martin Motorsport, with a best finish of twelfth coming in race one at Spa-Francorchamps, with his primary championship in 2016 being the British Formula 4 Championship where, despite leading the standings early on, he finished sixth with five race wins.

“I’m very excited to join Campos Racing for the 2017 EuroFormula Open season!” said Florescu on “They are the reigning champions and they all are a very professional group of people who I respect immensely.

“I am sure together we will fight for wins straight away and I can’t wait for the season to begin!”

Iorio moves across having dominated the Formula 3 Brasil championship in his homeland, taking ten victories to finish sixty-five points clear of his closest rival, and is now looking to make his mark in Europe.

“I’m very happy to be part of this great team,” said Iorio. “Since the first test I did, I felt at home. And that is the most important thing.

“This will be a very important year for me, as I’m making my debut in single-seaters in Europe coming from a great season in Brazil. I hope to learn from Campos Racing a lot and work well together, improving in all aspects. I will be forever grateful for this opportunity!”

Vivacqua makes a return to European competition having last raced for JD Motorsport in Formula Renault 2.0 in 2015, having also raced in Formula 3 Brasil last year, taking six podiums on his way to fourth in the championship standings.

“I’m really pleased to join the team and we will fight and work hard to be on top,” said Vivacqua. “Thanks to all the Campos Racing team for the support!”