Bulega Quickest in Jerez Moto3 Pre-Season Test

Nicolo Bulega was the class of the field in the penultimate Moto3 pre-season test at Jerez this week. The Italian, who claimed his maiden pole position and podium at this circuit last season, topped the timesheets with a blistering lap on the second of three days, edging out Aron Canet who has set the pace on days one and three.

Canet had taken pole for last season’s finale at Valencia, only to stall on the dummy grid, and the Spanish youngster set an impressive pace on day one to see off returnee Romano Fenati, back in the series with Marinelli Rivacold Snipers after his unceremonious departure from Sky VR46. Bulega would top all three sessions on Thursday though to move ahead of his former CEV rival and despite an improvement on Friday, Canet was forced to settle for second.

Jorge Martin, now in Gresini colours, snatched third from ahead of Jakub Kornfeil and Fenati while Marcos Ramirez produced one of the week’s stand-out performances to finish sixth as Platinum Bay Real Estate found the KTM machines much more to their liking than the Mahindras of 2016. The RBA KTMs of Gabriel Rodrigo and Juanfran Guevara were seventh and eighth ahead of 2016 Rookie of the Year Joan Mir while British Talent Team’s John McPhee rounded out the top ten.

All eyes were on the two big names to switch teams over the winter but Red Bull KTM Ajo’s new signing Niccolo Antonelli had a quiet start, finishing sixteenth, while Enea Bastianini was eighteenth after his long-awaited move to Estrella Galicia 0,0.


Moto3 Official Pre-Season Test – Jerez (Combined Classification)

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
18. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR461:46.232
244. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:46.338
388. Jorge MartinHondaDel Conca Gresini Moto31:46.413
484. Jakub KornfeilPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint1:46.473
55. Romano FenatiHondaMarinelli Rivacold Snipers1:46.486
642. Marcos RamirezKTMPlatinum Bay Real Estate1:46.506
719. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA Racing Team1:46.519
858. Juanfran GuevaraKTMRBA Racing Team1:46.553
936. Joan MirHondaLeopard Racing1:46.691
1017. John McPheeHondaBritish Talent Team1:46.792
1164. Bo BendsneyderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:46.806
1240. Darryn BinderKTMPlatinum Bay Real Estate1:46.813
1314. Tony ArbolinoHondaSIC58 Squadra Corse1:46.973
1465. Philipp OettlKTMSchedl GP Racing1:46:976
1548. Lorenzo Dalla PortaMahindraPull & Bear Aspar Mahindra1:46.990
1623. Niccolo AntonelliKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:47.052
1716. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR461:47.073
1833. Enea BastianiniHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:47.075
1971. Ayumu SasakiHondaSIC Racing Team1:47.157
2021. Fabio Di GiannantonioHondaDel Conca Gresini Moto31:47.321
217. Adam NorrodinHondaSIC Racing Team1:47.435
2275. Albert ArenasMahindraPull & Bear Aspar Mahindra1:47.502
2324. Tatsuki SuzukiHondaSIC58 Squadra Corse1:47.509
2412. Marco BezzecchiMahindraCIP1:47.532
2527. Kaito TobaHondaHonda Team Asia1:47.552
2695. Jules DaniloHondaMarinelli Rivacold Snipers1:47.656
2711. Livio LoiHondaLeopard Racing1:47.694
2841. Nakarin AtiratphuvapatHondaHonda Team Asia1:48.082
296. Maria HerreraKTMAGR Team1:48.222
3096. Manuel PaglianiMahindraCIP1:48.361
314. Patrik PulkkinenPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint1:49.910