Dovizioso Leads on Opening Night at Losail

Andrea Dovizioso returned Ducati to the top of the testing timesheets with the fastest time on the opening night at Losail. The Italian, who was finished second in Qatar in each of the last two seasons, went faster than the current lap record to set the pace, putting Ducati at the top of the standings for the first time since day one at Sepang.

Although their machine boasted no apparent upgrades since Phillip Island, the Ducati looked at home on a circuit notorious for suiting the Desmosedici GP. At one stage, the Bologna squad enjoyed a 1-2 with Dovizioso eight tenths clear of team-mate Jorge Lorenzo but Maverick Vinales, the star of testing so far, halved the Italian’s advantage late in the evening to snatch second.

Cal Crutchlow also improved in the closing stages to take third but the Briton was the exception to the rule on a night where the Honda riders struggled, none more so than reigning champion Marc Marquez. The Spaniard debuted a new aerodynamic fairing on his RC213V but the experiment was cut short by a crash, one of two on the day for the no.93 who ended up twelfth fastest.

Karel Abraham sprung the day’s big surprise by taking fourth on the Aspar Ducati GP15 with Lorenzo relegated to fifth on the 2017 prototype. Jonas Folger produced another eye-catching performance to go sixth quickest while Valentino Rossi showed signs of improvement after a problematic test in Australia, finishing seventh. Dani Pedrosa was eighth on the leading Repsol Honda while Johann Zarco and Andrea Iannone completed the top ten, the latter suffering a crash on his Suzuki.


2017 MotoGP Official Pre-Season Test: Losail (Day One)

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
14. Andrea DoviziosoDucatiDucati Team1:54.819
225. Maverick VinalesYamahaMovistar Yamaha MotoGP1:55.179
335. Cal CrutchlowHondaLCR Honda1:55.420
417. Karel AbrahamDucatiPull & Bear Aspar Team1:55.613
599. Jorge LorenzoDucatiDucati Team1:55.616
694. Jonas FolgerYamahaMonster Yamaha Tech 31:55.640
746. Valentino RossiYamahaMovistar Yamaha MotoGP1:55.679
826. Dani PedrosaHondaRepsol Honda Team1:55.692
95. Johann ZarcoYamahaMonster Yamaha Tech 31:55.705
1029. Andrea IannoneSuzukiTeam SUZUKI ECSTAR1:55.751
119. Danilo PetrucciDucatiOcto Pramac Yakhnich1:55.830
1293. Marc MarquezHondaRepsol Honda Team1:55.899
1341. Aleix EspargaroApriliaAprilia Racing Team Gresini1:55.916
1443. Jack MillerHondaEG 0,0 Marc VDS1:56.017
1545. Scott ReddingDucatiOcto Pramac Yakhnich1:56.085
1619. Alvaro BautistaDucatiPull & Bear Aspar Team1:56.116
1776. Loris BazDucatiReale Avintia Racing1:56.193
1842. Alex RinsSuzukiTeam SUZUKI ECSTAR1:56.589
1944. Pol EspargaroKTMRed Bull KTM Factory Racing1:56.665
2022. Sam LowesApriliaAprilia Racing Team Gresini1:57.090
2153. Tito RabatHondaEG 0,0 Marc VDS1:57.455
2264. Mika KallioKTMRed Bull KTM Factory Racing1:58.039
2338. Bradley SmithKTMRed Bull KTM Factory Racing1:58.755