Latifi hits the front for DAMS on day two in Bahrain

by Paul Hensby

Nicholas Latifi ended day two of the final FIA Formula 2 Championship pre-season test at the Bahrain International Circuit on top, with the DAMS driver leading Russian Time pairing Luca Ghiotto and Artem Markelov.

Latifi set the best time of the test so far during the morning session at Sakhir, with his lap of 1:40.541 0.137 seconds faster than Ghiotto, while Markelov was a further 0.024 seconds back in third.

Jordan King continued his good form for MP Motorsport to finish fourth quickest, while day one pacesetter Charles Leclerc, the reigning GP3 Series champion, was fifth fastest for defending Teams’ champions Prema Racing, just 0.001 seconds behind King.

Norman Nato was sixth for Pertamina Arden in the morning session ahead of ART Grand Prix duo Alexander Albon and Nobuharu Matsushita, while the second DAMS of Oliver Rowland was ninth ahead of Sergio Sette Câmara of MP Motorsport.

The afternoon session saw the majority of teams focus on long runs, but two drivers did improve on their morning time, Nyck de Vries’ fastest time meaning he ended the day ultimately with the tenth fastest time for Rapax, while there was also an improvement for Racing Engineering’s Swedish racer Gustav Malja.

After the conclusion of that second session, Câmara’s car was found to be underweight, so all his lap times from the afternoon were deleted.

The test concludes on Friday.

Nyck de Vries set the fastest time in the afternoon session – Credit: Malcolm Griffiths/FIA Formula 2

Bahrain International Circuit Test Day 2 Result

110Nicholas LatifiCANDAMS1:40.5411:44.354
25Luca GhiottoITARussian Time1:40.6781:47.325
36Artem MarkelovRUSRussian Time1:40.7021:45.705
415Jordan KingGBRMP Motorsport1:40.8841:45.191
51Charles LeclercMONPrema Racing1:40.8851:41.689
620Norman NatoFRAPertamina Arden1:40.9091:47.379
78Alexander AlbonTHAART Grand Prix1:40.9271:47.050
87Nobuharu MatsushitaJAPART Grand Prix1:41.0571:46.607
99Oliver RowlandGBRDAMS1:41.1561:44.437
1018Nyck de VriesNEDRapax1:41.5681:41.212
1114Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMP Motorsport1:41.351No Time
1219Johnny Cecotto JrVENRapax1:41.3711:41.833
132Antonio FuocoITAPrema Racing1:41.3981:41.957
143Louis DeletrazSWIRacing Engineering1:41.4631:44.415
154Gustav MaljaSWERacing Engineering1:42.3471:41.546
1611Ralph BoschungSWICampos Racing1:41.9841:43.171
1717Sergio CanamasasITATrident1:42.0421:42.197
1821Sean GelaelINOPertamina Arden1:42.3471:47.020
1912Raoul HymanRSACampos Racing1:42.5981:45.008
2016Nabil JeffriMAYTrident1:42.9731:44.258

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More