Formula Renault Eurocup

Max Defourny aiming for title with R-ace GP stay

1 Mins read
Max Defourny - Credit: Clement Luck / DPPI

Despite testing with both World Series Formula V8 3.5 and GP3 Series teams in the off-season, highly rated Max Defourny will remain in the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 championship in 2017, re-signing with R-ace GP.

The eighteen-year-old Belgian took one race victory last year in finishing third in the championship behind Lando Norris and Dorian Boccolacci, but it will be his battles with the former that will remembered as the duo were often fighting for the same piece of tarmac.

But whereas Norris has moved to the FIA European Formula 3 Championship in 2017, Defourny remains in Eurocup aiming to take the title, and he will be team-mates again with Will Palmer, who has already confirmed he will be remaining with the team for a second season.

Also a part of R-ace GP in 2017 will be SMP Racing-backed Russian Robert Shwartzman, who has moved to the team from Josef Kaufmann Racing, while the fourth car will be fielded for Mexican Raúl Guzmán, who comes in from finishing third in Italian Formula 4.

R-ace GP will race with four different drivers in the Formula Renault 2.0 Northern European Cup in 2017 with Belgian Gilles Magnus, Moroccan Michael Benyahia and Frenchmen Charles Milesi and Theo Coicaud.

Related posts
Formula Renault Eurocup

Colapinto and Quinn take Eurocup Victories at a Wet Spa-Francorchamps

5 Mins read
Franco Colapinto and Alex Quinn were victorious at Spa-Francorchamps as the weather played havoc with proceedings in both races.
Formula Renault Eurocup

Victor Martins Dominates in Barcelona to Extend Championship Advantage over Caio Collet

5 Mins read
Victor Martins won twice at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya to further extend his advantage over Caio Collet in the Drivers’ Championship to sixteen points.
Formula Renault Eurocup

Victor Martins, Caio Collet Share the Wins on Eurocup’s Zandvoort Return

4 Mins read
Victor Martins and Caio Collet were again the drivers to beat at Zandvoort, with each taking a win and a second place at the Dutch circuit.

Leave a Reply