Scott heads the field as Winter Series gets underway in France

Harrison Scott was fastest in free practice in France - Credit: FOTOSPEEDY

Harrison Scott led the way on the opening day of EuroFormula Open’s Winter Series at Paul Ricard on Friday, with the Briton more than half a second ahead of the rest of the field across the four practice sessions.

Scott, competing for RP Motorsport this weekend, set a best time of 1:59.576 during the final session of the day, which ultimately was the fastest session overall, with the twenty-year-old the only driver to dip beneath the two-minute mark.

Ameya Vaidyanathan was Scott’s closest challenger, but the Carlin Motorsport driver ended up 0.544 seconds down, while Campos Racing’s Brazilian racer Thiago Vivacqua was third fastest, a further 0.019 seconds back.

Drivex School’s SMP Racing-backed Nikita Troitskiy was fourth fastest, six-tenths of a second down on Scott, while Campos Racing’s Petru Florescu completed the top five ahead of Fortec Motorsport’s Jannes Fittje.

Simo Laaksonen made it three Campos machines inside the top seven, with the Finn’s best time of 2:00.459 seeing him finishing ahead of Teo Martin Motorsport’s Eliseo Martinez, while Matheus Iorio (Campos) and Pedro Cardoso (Teo Martin) completed the top ten.

Nineteen drivers took to the track on Friday, including current World Series Formula V8 3.5 driver Rene Binder, but the Austrian ended up only fourteenth fastest overall for Carlin.

Paul Ricard Free Practice 1-4 Results

110Harrison ScottGBRRP Motorsport2:01.8812:02.0912:02.5411:59.576
224Ameya VaidyanathanINDCarlin2:01.4452:01.5972:03.0142:00.120
33Thiago VivacquaBRZCampos Racing2:02.0802:01.9692:03.0122:00.139
416Nikita TroitskiyRUSDrivex School2:02.0232:01.4412:02.9522:00.179
51Petru FlorescuROMCampos Racing2:02.2742:01.3522:02.3342:00.287
618Jannes FittjeGERFortec Motorsport2:03.3892:02.6442:01.7672:00.385
72Simo LaaksonenFINCampos Racing2:02.2062:01.6102:02.8072:00.459
842Eliseo MartinezESPTeo Martin Motorsport2:02.7882:02.5552:03.8042:00.550
94Matheus IorioBRZCampos Racing2:03.5772:01.6702:02.9732:00.635
1043Pedro CardosoBRZTeo Martin Motorsport2:04.7432:03.7592:03.2542:01.011
1112Christian HahnBRZDrivex School2:04.1512:03.3262:03.6302:01.110
1217Devlin De FrancescoCANCarlin2:02.3492:01.8902:03.1492:01.211
1319Yan ShlomRUSFortec Motorsport2:04.7972:02.2142:02.6052:01.407
1414Rene BinderAUTCarlin2:02.9332:01.6842:03.3532:01.684
1522Daniel PronenkoRUSBVM Racing2:04.2362:04.2892:04.8492:02.221
168Lodovico LauriniITARP Motorsport2:05.4992:04.4022:05.0492:02.355
1744Javier CobianESPTeo Martin Motorsport2:06.9142:06.5482:04.3952:02.754
1820Alexey ChulkinUKRFortec Motorsport2:03.5762:04.0912:04.7702:02.798
199Kane ShepherdTHARP Motorsport2:05.0852:06.4982:07.3142:04.314