McPhee Grabs Argentine Moto3 Pole

John McPhee - Photo Credit:

John McPhee will start from pole position for the third time in his Moto3 career after an impressive display in qualifying at Termas de Rio Hondo. The Briton, who finished second in the season opener at Losail, edged out Nicolo Bulega for pole with early championship leader Joan Mir down in sixteenth despite dominating free practice.

The session began in dramatic fashion for Aspar Mahindra’s Albert Arenas who suffered a horrendous highside on his first timed lap of the afternoon. The Spaniard walked away from the scene despite a painful fall through the gravel and a collision with his own motorcycle and to his immense credit, rejoined the session later on to qualify nineteenth.

Mir had looked set to continue his practice form after going fastest on his very first attempt but surprisingly, the Leopard rider would barely improve in the remainder of the session. Within five minutes, he was knocked off the top by Andrea Migno before the pole spot was traded between two other Italians, Romano Fenati and Fabio Di Giannantonio towing each other to front row positions.

With thirteen minutes to go, Qatar polesitter Jorge Martin moved to the top but his spell on provisional pole was rather brief, McPhee clocking a 1:49.094 seconds later to secure top spot. With rain starting to fall in the closing stages, his place at the front of the grid was safe.

Nicolo Bulega bucked the trend late on, improving where others didn’t, to go second ahead of Martin while Aron Canet edged out Di Giannantonio and Fenati to head the second row. Juanfran Guevara knocked Migno down to eighth while Tatsuki Suzuki and Philipp Oettl completed the top ten.


Moto3 Gran Premio Motul de la Republica Argentina: Qualifying Result

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
117. John McPheeHondaBritish Talent Team1:49.094
28. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR461:49.248
388. Jorge MartinHondaDel Conca Gresini Moto31:49.323
444. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:49.463
521. Fabio Di GiannantonioHondaDel Conca Gresini Moto31:49.486
65. Romano FenatiHondaMarinelli Rivacold Snipers1:49.493
758. Juanfran GuevaraKTMRBA BOE Racing Team1:49.782
816. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR461:49.830
924. Tatsuki SuzukiHondaSIC58 Squadra Corse1:49.843
1065. Philipp OettlKTMSüdmetall Schedl GP Racing1:49.860
1140. Darryn BinderKTMPlatinum Bay Real Estate1:49.901
1211. Livio LoiHondaLeopard Racing1:49.927
1319. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA BOE Racing Team1:49.935
1423. Niccolo AntonelliKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:49.974
1533. Enea BastianiniHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:49.978
1636. Joan MirHondaLeopard Racing1:50.025
1764. Bo BendsneyderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:50.042
1827. Kaito TobaHondaHonda Team Asia1:50.067
1975. Albert ArenasMahindraMAHINDRA MOTARD Aspar1:50.093
206. Maria HerreraKTMAGR Team1:50.107
217. Adam NorrodinHondaSIC Racing Team1:50.126
2284. Jakub KornfeilPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint1:50.163
2312. Marco BezzecchiMahindraCIP1:50.250
2414. Tony ArbolinoHondaSIC58 Squadra Corse1:50.328
2571. Ayumu SasakiHondaSIC Racing Team1:50.668
2648. Lorenzo Dalla PortaMahindraMAHINDRA MOTARD Aspar1:50.681
2742. Marcos RamirezKTMPlatinum Bay Real Estate1:50.727
2895. Jules DaniloHondaMarinelli Rivacold Snipers1:50.781
2941. Nakarin AtiratphuvapatHondaHonda Team Asia1:51.180
304. Patrik PulkkinenPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint1:52.615
3196. Manuel PaglianiMahindraCIPPenalty (+12)