Power grabs Barber pole as Penske domination continues

Will Power took his second pole position of the season at Barber - Credit: Bret Kelley / IndyCar

Will Power and Team Penske continued their strong form into qualifying at Barber Motorsports Park, with the Australian securing the 46th pole position of his career.

Penske finished 1-2-3 in qualifying, continuing their dominance shown throughout this weekend so far, with Power setting the pace in the final Fast Six shootout to grab pole with a time of 1:06.9614s.

Joining Power on the front row is his team-mate Helio Castroneves, who ended up 0.1815 seconds back, while Simon Pagenaud, race winner at Barber twelve months ago, will start third.

Scott Dixon was the best of the rest in fourth, with the Chip Ganassi Racing driver ending 0.6203 second back, while Ryan Hunter-Reay of Andretti Autosport and James Hinchcliffe of Schmidt Peterson Motorsport completed the top six.

Josef Newgarden was unable to follow his Penske team-mates into the Fast Six shootout but will start seventh, with the 2015 Barber winner just ahead of the second Schmidt machine of Mikhail Aleshin, while Chip Ganassi Racing duo Max Chilton and Tony Kanaan round out the top ten.

Rookie Ed Jones qualified ahead of Dale Coyne Racing team-mate and current championship leader Sebastien Bourdais after the latter made a mistake at turn eight during the second segment of qualifying and was unable to better twelfth.

After showing good pace during free practice, Marco Andretti was unable to advance out of his group in qualifying, and will start thirteenth on the grid, just ahead of Andretti Autosport team-mate Takuma Sato.

Helio Castroneves will start on the front row on Sunday – Credit: Bret Kelley / IndyCar

Barber Motorsports Park Qualifying Result

112Will PowerAUSTeam Penske1:06.9614s
23Helio CastronevesBRZTeam Penske1:07.1429s
31Simon PagenaudFRATeam Penske1:07.3817s
49Scott DixonNZLChip Ganassi Racing1:07.5817s
528Ryan Hunter-ReayUSAAndretti Autosport1:07.6851s
65James HinchcliffeCANSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1:07.8710s
- - Eliminated in Q2- - -
72Josef NewgardenUSATeam Penske1:07.5941s
87Mikhail AleshinRUSSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1:07.9467s
98Max ChiltonGBRChip Ganassi Racing1:07.9788s
1010Tony KanaanBRZChip Ganassi Racing1:08.0305s
1119Ed JonesUAEDale Coyne Racing1:08.2034s
1218Sebastien BourdaisFRADale Coyne Racing1:08.2726s
- - Eliminated in Q1- - -
1327Marco AndrettiUSAAndretti Autosport1:07.5405s
1426Takuma SatoJAPAndretti Autosport1:07.6928s
1583Charlie KimballUSAChip Ganassi Racing1:07.7033s
1614Carlos MunozCOLAJ Foyt Enterprises1:07.7007s
1720Spencer PigotUSAEd Carpenter Racing1:07.9211s
1898Alexander RossiUSAAndretti Herta Autosport1:07.7483s
1921Zach VeachUSAEd Carpenter Racing1:08.4681s
204Conor DalyUSAAJ Foyt Enterprises1:08.0104s
2115Graham RahalUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing1:08.0499s