Power hits the front in final Barber practice

1 Mins read
Will Power was fastest in final practice - Credit: Bret Kelley / IndyCar

Team Penske continued to show good pace as they finished 1-2-3-5 in final practice for this weekend’s Verizon IndyCar Series race at Barber Motorsports Park, with Will Power leading the way.

Power set a weekend’s best time so far of 1:06.9953s to pace the field ahead of team-mates Josef Newgarden and Helio Castroneves, while reigning series champion Simon Pagenaud was fifth.

Mikhail Aleshin denied Penske a second clean sweep of the weekend by finishing fourth for Schmidt Peterson Motorsport but only after surviving a moment early in the session at turn one that saw the Russian run off track.

It was a good session for Schmidt, with the second car of James Hinchcliffe finishing fifth fastest as the Canadian looks to go back-to-back in race victories after triumphing last time out around the streets of Long Beach.

Scott Dixon was seventh fastest for Chip Ganassi Racing, while team-mate Max Chilton enjoyed a much better day to finish tenth, just behind Friday pacesetter Marco Andretti and 2016 Barber runner-up Graham Rahal, while Ryan Hunter-Reay was eleventh after a late spin that almost saw him collected by Hinchcliffe.

As well as Aleshin and Hunter-Reay, both Ed Carpenter Racing entrants had off-track moments, but everyone was able to continue and the session concluded without too much of an interruption.

Josef Newgarden was second fastest in the middle of a Penske 1-2-3 – Credit: Bret Kelley / IndyCar

Barber Motorsports Park Free Practice 3 Result

[table id=1902 /]

Related posts

NBC to shut down NBCSN by end of 2021, motorsports like NASCAR and IndyCar among affected

5 Mins read
NBC plans to end NBCSN before the end of 2021. Motorsports like NASCAR, IndyCar, IMSA, and MotoGP, which have races on the network, will have to look for alternatives in the NBC family like USA Network.

Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama Rescheduled

1 Mins read
The Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama has been rescheduled due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.

Female-Led Paretta Autosport Joins IndyCar, will compete in Indy 500

2 Mins read
Motorsport executive Beth Paretta has announced the formation of a female-led IndyCar team, Paretta Autosport. The team is set to make their debut at the 2021 Indianapolis 500.

Leave a Reply