EuroFormula Open

Vaidyanathan, Scott lead the way in Estoril test sessions

1 Mins read
Ameya Vaidyanathan led the way in Estoril - Credit: FOTOSPEEDY

Ameya Vaidyanathan set the pace during free practice for the opening round of the EuroFormula Open season, with the Indian outpacing Thiago Vivacqua by 0.255 seconds at the Autodromo do Estoril.

The Carlin Motorsport sophomore driver set a best time of 1:32.083s during the first of the two sessions held on Friday, while Harrison Scott was quickest in the slower second session for RP Motorsport with a time of 1:33.935s.

Nineteen cars took to the track on Friday, including Indian racer Tarun Reddy who was announced earlier this week to drive for Carlin, while Fortec Motorsports have confirmed Malaysian Najiy Ayyad Razak in their third car alongside Jannes Fittje and Yan Leon Shlom.

Brazilian racer Vivacqua was second for Campos Racing during the opening session, with Drivex School’s Nikita Troitskiy third ahead of Scott and Devlin De Francesco, while Petru Florescu, Alex Karkosik, Simo Laaksonen and Fittje completed the top ten, with all being within one second of Vaidyanathan.

Scott was fastest in the slower afternoon session held with much warmer track conditions, with Florescu second for Campos Racing ahead of Fittje and Vaidyanathan, while Troitsky, Matheus Iorio, Karkosik, Reddy, De Francesco and Vivacqua completed the top ten.

Autodromo do Estoril Combined Free Practice Results

[table id=1920 /]

13745 posts

About author
Long time motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1 and the occassional other series. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
EuroFormula Open

Ye Secures Double Victory at the Red Bull Ring, Maldonado Takes First EuroFormula Open Podiums

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye has now won five out of six races to start the 2020 EuroFormula Open season after a double victory at the Red Bull Ring.
EuroFormula Open

Dunner, Ye Continue Positive Start to 2020 for CryptoTower Racing

3 Mins read
CryptoTower Racing took both victories as the EuroFormula Open series hit the Circuit Paul Ricard in France for round two of 2020.
EuroFormula Open

Ye Welcomes in New Era of EuroFormula Open with Double Victory in Hungary

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye had a perfect weekend at the Hungaroring as the 2020 EuroFormula Open season finally got underway.