Last Gasp Canet Claims First Moto3 Win

Aron Canet - Photo Credit:

Aron Canet put the heartbreak of Texas behind him to claim his first Grand Prix victory on home soil at Jerez. The Estrella Galicia 0,0 rider, who crashed out of the lead in the United States, outbraked Romano Fenati into the final corner to take his first win by just three hundredths of a second in a thrilling finish.

With polesitter Jorge Martin never really figuring in the fight for victory, and John McPhee crashing from the lower reaches of the points positions, Joan Mir and Fenati had a golden opportunity to pull clear in the championship battle but they faced two unlikely threats in the form of the Platinum Bay Real Estate KTMs.

Darryn Binder, younger brother of reigning Moto3 champion Brad, led a Grand Prix for the first time but his dream died on lap eleven, the South African crashing out at the last corner after tangling with Fenati. His team-mate Marcos Ramirez kept his head though and with a lap to go, the Spaniard still had victory in his sights.

Fenati led into the final lap before being slipstreamed into the Dry Sac hairpin by Mir but a huge moment on the exit of turn seven allowed the Italian back up the inside again. Canet forced his way past Ramirez in the meantime and approaching the last corner, the teenager dived up the inside of the two title challengers, gaining two places and securing a memorable first win.

Ramirez had to settle for fourth with Fabio Di Giannantonio the leading Gresini rider in fifth ahead of Sky VR46’s Andrea Migno. Nicolo Bulega’s difficult season continued in seventh while Enea Bastianini relegated pole-sitter Martin to ninth by the finish.


Moto3 Gran Premio Red Bull de Espana – Race Result

144. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,041:25.70625
25. Romano FenatiHondaMarinelli Rivacold Snipers+0.03120
336. Joan MirHondaLeopard Racing+0.15516
442. Marcos RamirezKTMPlatinum Bay Real Estate+0.35813
521. Fabio Di GiannantonioHondaDel Conca Gresini Moto3+0.94611
616. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR46+1.16210
78. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR46+1.4179
833. Enea BastianiniHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+1.4568
988. Jorge MartinHondaDel Conca Gresini Moto3+1.9617
1058. Juanfran GuevaraKTMRBA BOE Racing Team+2.0006
1164. Bo BendsneyderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+7.4315
1295. Jules DaniloHondaMarinelli Rivacold Snipers+9.9584
1319. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA BOE Racing Team+10.0283
1475. Albert ArenasMahindraMAHINDRA Northgate Aspar+10.6652
1571. Ayumu SasakiHondaSIC Racing Team+14.0621
1611. Livio LoiHondaLeopard Racing+20.451
1727. Kaito TobaHondaHonda Team Asia+20.699
1884. Jakub KornfeilPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint+20.836
1948. Lorenzo Dalla PortaMahindraMAHINDRA Northgate Aspar+21.624
2040. Darryn BinderKTMPlatinum Bay Real Estate+34.081
2141. Nakarin AtiratphuvapatHondaHonda Team Asia+37.754
2223. Niccolo AntonelliKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+37.799
2314. Tony ArbolinoHondaSIC58 Squadra Corse+37.915
246. Maria HerreraKTMAGR Team+38.014
2531. Raul FernandezMahindraMAHINDRA MRW Aspar Team+57.408
264. Patrik PulkkinenPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint+57.494
2796. Manuel PaglianiMahindraCIP+1:00.920
NC17. John McPheeHondaBritish Talent Team+9 Laps
NC12. Marco BezzecchiMahindraCIP+10 Laps
NC7. Adam NorrodinHondaSIC Racing Team+11 Laps
NC24. Tatsuki SuzukiHondaSIC58 Squadra Corse+20 Laps
NC63. Vicente PerezKTMReale Avintia Academy+22 Laps
NS65. Philipp OettlKTMSüdmetall Schedl GP Racing