Maiden victory for Vaidyanathan at Spa-Francorchamps

Ameya Vaidyanathan took victory in race one at Spa - Credit: FOTOSPEEDY

Indian racer Ameya Vaidyanathan denied Harrison Scott a third consecutive victory in 2017 after securing his maiden EuroFormula Open win in Saturday’s opening race at Spa-Francorchamps.

The Carlin racer started alongside Scott on the front row and shadowed the Briton in the opening laps, and was able to pass into the lead down the Kemmel Straight on lap three, and was never troubled thereafter.

Vaidyanathan then had the pace to extend his advantage over the RP Motorsport driver, who was forced to focus on his mirrors as Devlin De Francesco and Nikita Troitskiy closed in.

Scott ultimately finished 2.479 seconds behind the race winner, but Carlin driver De Francesco could not find a way passed, finishing just, but he claimed rookie honours by finishing third after a good battle with Drivex School’s Troitskiy.

Thiago Vivacqua was a relatively lonely fifth but closed in on the trio ahead of him in the closing laps for Campos Racing, but for team-mate Matheus Iorio the race ended in disappointment after crashing out whilst running inside the points, which caused yellow flags to fly at the exit of Pouhon for the final laps.

Tarun Reddy finished sixth in the third of the Carlin entries ahead of Campos Racing’s Simo Laaksonen, with Alex Karkosik, Petru Florescu and Eliseo Martinez Merono completing the top ten.

Spa-Francorchamps Race 1 Result

124Ameya VaidyanathanINDCarlin29:37.874s
210Harrison ScottGBRRP Motorsport+2.479s
317Devlin De FrancescoCANCarlin+2.824s
416Nikita TroitskiyRUSDrivex School+3.480s
52Thiago VivacquaBRZCampos Racing+4.207s
614Tarun ReddyINDCarlin+7.094s
73Simo LaaksonenFINCampos Racing+18.979s
811Alex KarkosikPOLRP Motorsport+19.903s
91Petru FlorescuROMCampos Racing+20.566s
1042Eliseo Martinez MeronoESPTeo Martin Motorsport+20.628s
1143Pedro CardosoBRZTeo Martin Motorsport+22.180s
1218Jannes FittjeGERFortec Motorsport+22.543s
1322Daniel PronenkoRUSBVM Racing+31.040s
1412Christian HahnBRZDrivex School+33.560s
1521Alexey ChuklinUKRFortec Motorsport+1:47.720s
168Lodovico LauriniITARP Motorsport+1 Lap
RET4Matheus IorioBRZCampos RacingRetired