Palmer and Fenestraz share Monaco pole positions

Will Palmer starts race one from pole position - Credit: Octane Photographic Ltd

Will Palmer and Sacha Fenestraz will share the pole positions for the two Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Championship races around the streets of Monte Carlo, thanks to the unique qualifying procedure introduced for this weekend.

Qualifying was split into two sessions around the street circuit in order to give all thirty drivers the opportunity to get some clear runs in, but the grids for both races were set by the sessions. The driver who set the fastest time of the day will start the second race from pole position, while the fastest driver in the other group would lead the way in Saturday’s opener.

Fenestraz set the fastest time in Group B for Josef Kaufmann Racing to take pole position for Sunday’s race, with the French-Argentine driver looking for a second victory around the streets of Monaco, having triumphed there in the inaugural series race in 2016.   Fenestraz did have to survive a brush against the wall and a spin during the session.

Group A was headed by Palmer, and as a result the Briton will start Saturday’s race from the front for R-ace GP.

Daniel Ticktum would have started third for race one, but the Arden Motorsport driver will drop two places to fifth thanks to the penalty carried over from Pau, which means championship leader Robert Shwartzman will start both races from the inside of the second row for R-ace GP, while his team-mate Max Defourny moves up to fourth.

Much like Ticktum, Alex Peroni also loses two places for a Pau infringement, meaning the most recent race winner will drop from fifth on the grid to seventh, with Richard Verschoor moving up to sixth for MP Motorsport, while Gabriel Aubry, Alexey Korneev and Aleksandr Vartanyan complete the top ten.

Behind Fenestraz, Palmer and Shwartzman, Ticktum will start race two from fourth on the grid ahead of Defourny, Peroni, Aubry, Verschoor, Vartanyan and Korneev.

With only twenty-eight places available on the grid and thirty drivers racing this weekend, two drivers will sit out each race, but with the championship insisting that every driver will race at least once, those who were slowest in their respective sessions will start race one but will sit out race two, with those who were fourteenth in each session doing the opposite.

Sacha Fenestraz will start race two at Monaco at the front of the field – Credit: Octane Photographic Ltd

Monaco Qualifying Result

18Will PalmerGBRR-ace GP1:30.8962
211Sacha FenestrazFRAJosef Kaufmann Racing1:30.7361
310Robert ShwartzmanRUSR-ace GP1:30.7973
49Max DefournyBELR-ace GP1:30.8565
533Daniel TicktumGBRArden Motorsport1:31.126*4
629Richard VerschoorNEDMP Motorsport1:31.7458
717Alex PeroniAUSFortec Motorsports1:31.486*6
84Gabriel AubryFRATech 1 Racing1:31.2597
918Aleksey KorneevRUSFortec Motorsports1:31.76410
1023Aleksandr VartanyanRUSJD Motorsport1:31.5089
1131Neil VerhagenUSAMP Motorsport1:31.78712
121Yifei YeCHNJosef Kaufmann Racing1:31.66711
1330Jarno OpmeerNEDMP Motorsport1:31.88714
142Luis LeedsAUSJosef Kaufmann Racing1:31.79713
1514Rodrigo PfluckerPERAVF by Adrian Valles1:32.11016
1613Henrique ChavesPORAVF by Adrian Valles1:31.82315
177Max FewtrellGBRTech 1 Racing1:32.13718
1893Zane GoddardAUSArden Motorsport1:32.00317
195Thomas MaxwellAUSTech 1 Racing1:32.38319
2026Presley MartonoINOMark Burdett Motorsport1:32.46922
2115Axel MatusMEXAVF by Adrian Valles1:32.38821
2216Gregoire SaucySWIAVF by Adrian Valles1:32.55524
2312Raul GuzmanMEXR-ace GP1:32.279**20
2434Ghislain CordeelBELArden Motorsport1:32.40223
2519Frank BirdGBRFortec Motorsports1:32.85326
266Thomas NeubauerFRATech 1 Racing1:32.63925
2722Jean Baptiste SimmenauerFRAJD Motorsport1:33.347-
2821Sun Yue YangCHNJD Motorsport1:33.537-
-25Julia PankiewiczPOLMark Burdett Motorsport1:33.049#28
-20Najiy Ayyad bin Abd RazakMALFortec Motorsports1:33.112#27