Peroni resists Fenestraz pressure to take maiden Eurocup victory

Alex Peroni took his maiden Eurocup win in race two at Pau - Credit: Marc de Mattia / DPPI

Alex Peroni secured his maiden Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series victory in confident fashion as he led from start to finish to win race two around the streets of Pau on Sunday.

The Fortec Motorsports driver retained his advantage at the start, and was forced to withstand pressure from behind from Sacha Fenestraz right the way through the twenty-one lap race, with Peroni ultimately triumphing by just 0.520 seconds.

For Fenestraz, it is his third runners-up position of the season after finishing there twice in the opening round of the season at the Autodromo Nazionale Monza last month, but the Josef Kaufmann Racing driver was able to keep R-ace GP duo Robert Shwartzman and Will Palmer behind him until the chequered flag.

Max Fewtrell was once again the best of the rookies as the young Briton took fifth place for Tech 1 Racing, and he was forced to withstand race long pressure from Max Defourny and Gabriel Aubry, who both finished on his tail in sixth and seventh respectively.

Red Bull Junior racer Richard Verschoor took eighth for MP Motorsport, while his team-mate Neil Verhagen, also part of the Red Bull Junior Team was ninth after Aleksandr Vartanyan spun his way out of that position with just a handful of laps remaining.

Yifei Ye completed the points scorers for Josef Kaufmann Racing in tenth, with Raul Guzman of R-ace GP and Axel Matus of AVF by Adrian Vallés just outside the top ten.

It was another race without a safety car, but again there were incidents and retirements, with Daniel Ticktum and Henrique Chaves both crashing out of the race, while Presley Martono and Rodrigo Pflucker collided on the opening lap for which both are under investigation.

Shwartzman’s third place means he takes over the lead in the championship standings from team-mate Palmer, albeit by only one point heading into next weekend’s race weekend around the streets of Monaco.

Pau Race 2 Result

117Alex PeroniAUSFortec Motorsports21 Laps
211Sacha FenestrazFRAJosef Kaufmann Racing+0.520s
310Robert ShwartzmanRUSR-ace GP+1.662s
48Will PalmerGBRR-ace GP+2.271s
57Max FewtrellGBRTech 1 Racing+9.239s
69Max DefournyBELR-ace GP+9.673s
74Gabriel AubryFRATech 1 Racing+10.515s
829Richard VerschoorNEDMP Motorsport+17.166s
931Neil VerhagenUSAMP Motorsport+24.080s
101Yifei YeCHNJosef Kaufmann Racing+24.736s
1112Raul GuzmanMEXR-ace GP+32.594s
1215Axel MatusMEXAVF by Adrian Valles+33.093s
135Thomas MaxwellAUSTech 1 Racing+33.897s
1418Aleksey KorneevRUSFortec Motorsports+34.335s
1593Zane GoddardAUSArden Motorsport+36.967s
162Luis LeedsAUSJosef Kaufmann Racing+38.959s
1719Frank BirdGBRFortec Motorsports+40.992s
1834Ghislain CordeelBELArden Motorsport+44.736s
1920Najiy Ayyad bin Abd RazakMALFortec Motorsports+51.403s
2022Jean Baptiste SimmenauerFRAJD Motorsport+55.220s
2121Sun Yue YangCHNJD Motorsport+55.579s
2230Jarno OpmeerNEDMP Motorsport+1:01.801s
2323Aleksandr VartanyanRUSJD Motorsport+1 Lap
246Thomas NeubauerFRATech 1 Racing+2 Laps
2525Julia PankiewiczPOLMark Burdett Motorsport+2 Laps
RET33Daniel TicktumGBRArden MotorsportRetired
RET13Henrique ChavesPORAVF by Adrian VallesRetired
RET26Presley MartonoINOMark Burdett MotorsportRetired
RET14Rodrigo PfluckerPERAVF by Adrian VallesRetired
DNS16Gregoire SaucySWIAVF by Adrian VallesDid Not Start