Scott climbs from sixth to claim Sunday victory at Spa

Harrison Scott took his third win in four races at Spa on Sunday - Credit: FOTOSPEEDY

Harrison Scott climbed from sixth on the grid to hit the front early and came through to win his third race of the EuroFormula Open season at Spa-Francorchamps on Sunday, extending his championship lead in the process.

Pole sitter Nikita Troitkskiy held the lead into the first turn but found himself shuffled down the pack heading down the Kemmel Straight, with Carlin duo Ameya Vaidyanathan and Devlin De Francesco drafting through into the lead.

Vaidyanathan and De Francesco ran side by side down the Kemmel Straight on lap three, with the Canadian assuming the lead heading into Les Combes, with the Indian racer hitting the kerb on the inside and spinning down to fourth.

By this time, Scott had found his way into second and then closed down and passed De Francesco to take the lead, and despite a mid-race safety car to clear up a final corner clash between Alex Karkosik and Pedro Cardosa, the RP Motorsport racer stayed clear of the pack to win by 1.791 seconds.

De Francesco maintained second, while Thiago Vivacqua had an excellent race to climb from seventh on the grid to claim the final spot on the podium for Campos Racing, ahead of Vaidyanathan.

Matheus Iorio also found his way ahead of Troitskiy to take fifth for Campos Racing, while Jannes Fittje, who started on the front row alongside the Drivex School racer, was seventh for Fortec Motorsports.

Petru Florescu survived a small off-track moment to finish eighth for Campos Racing, while Tarun Reddy and Alexey Chuklin completed the point’s scorers in ninth and tenth respectively.

Scott now holds a 39-point lead in the championship ahead of Vaidyanathan after the first four races of the season, with the next round coming up in two weeks at Paul Ricard.

The top three on the podium at Spa – Credit: FOTOSPEEDY

Spa-Francorchamps Race 2 Result

110Harrison ScottGBRRP Motorsport35:49.289s
217Devlin De FrancescoCANCarlin+1.791s
32Thiago VivacquaBRZCampos Racing+2.715s
424Ameya VaidyanathanINDCarlin+3.912s
54Matheus IorioBRZCampos Racing+7.093s
616Nikita TroitskiyRUSDrivex School+7.312s
718Jannes FittjeGERFortec Motorsport+8.149s
81Petru FlorescuROMCampos Racing+10.683s
914Tarun ReddyINDCarlin+11.626s
1021Alexey ChuklinUKRFortec Motorsport+15.695s
1122Daniel PronenkoRUSBVM Racing+16.411s
1212Christian HahnBRZDrivex School+16.832s
138Lodovico LauriniITARP Motorsport+39.887s
14/RET3Simo LaaksonenFINCampos Racing+1 Lap
15/RET42Eliseo Martinez MeronoESPTeo Martin Motorsport+3 Laps
RET11Alex KarkosikPOLRP MotorsportRetired
RET43Pedro CardosoBRZTeo Martin MotorsportRetired