Shwartzman grabs opening Pau pole as R-ace GP dominate

Robert Shwartzman took pole position for race one at Pau - Credit: Marc de Mattia / DPPI

Russian teenager Robert Shwartzman continued to show he’s going to be a championship contender in 2017 after taking his third pole position of the season for race one around the streets of Pau on Saturday morning.

With thirty cars taking part in the event this weekend, qualifying was split in two, with Shwartzman topping Group B with a time of 1:13.447s to deny Group A pacesetter and R-ace GP team-mate Max Defourny by 0.207 seconds.

Gabriel Aubry will start third on the grid for Tech 1 Racing, while R-ace GP’s Will Palmer, the current Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Championship leader, will start alongside the French driver on the second row of the grid.

Alex Peroni’s strong weekend around the French track continued into Saturday, with the Australian taking fifth place on the grid for Fortec Motorsports, while Sacha Fenestraz will start sixth in the leading of the Josef Kaufmann Racing machines.

Max Fewtrell was fourth in Group B and will therefore start seventh on the grid for Tech 1 Racing alongside Josef Kaufmann Racing’s Ye Yifei, while Raul Guzman and Daniel Ticktum will complete the top ten ahead of Aleksandr Vartanyan and Jarno Opmeer.

Race 1 gets underway on Saturday afternoon, and with so many cars competing this weekend, it could be an interesting race on such a short and tight circuit…

Pau Race 1 Qualifying Result

110Robert ShwartzmanRUSR-ace GP1:13.447
29Max DefournyBELR-ace GP1:13.654
34Gabriel AubryFRATech 1 Racing1:13.737
48Will PalmerGBRR-ace GP1:13.754
517Alex PeroniAUSFortec Motorsports1:13.785
611Sacha FenestrazFRAJosef Kaufmann Racing1:13.809
77Max FewtrellGBRTech 1 Racing1:13.839
81Yifei YeCHNJosef Kaufmann Racing1:13.855
912Raul GuzmanMEXR-ace GP1:14.209
1033Daniel TicktumGBRArden Motorsport1:13.929
1123Aleksandr VartanyanRUSJD Motorsport1:14.241
1230Jarno OpmeerNEDMP Motorsport1:13.930
1313Henrique ChavesPORAVF by Adrian Valles1:14.400
1429Richard VerschoorNEDMP Motorsport1:14.022
1526Presley MartonoINOMark Burdett Motorsport1:14.473
1615Axel MatusMEXAVF by Adrian Valles1:14.572
1734Ghislain CordeelBELArden Motorsport1:14.642
185Thomas MaxwellAUSTech 1 Racing1:14.618
1931Neil VerhagenUSAMP Motorsport1:15.194
2018Aleksey KorneevRUSFortec Motorsports1:14.643
2193Zane GoddardAUSArden Motorsport1:15.284
2216Gregoire SaucySWIAVF by Adrian Valles1:14.884
2319Frank BirdGBRFortec Motorsports1:15.308
242Luis LeedsAUSJosef Kaufmann Racing1:14.943
256Thomas NeubauerFRATech 1 Racing1:15.385
2614Rodrigo PfluckerPERAVF by Adrian Valles1:15.302
2720Najiy Ayyad bin Abd RazakMALFortec Motorsports1:15.470
2821Sun Yue YangCHNJD Motorsport1:15.841
2925Julia PankiewiczPOLMark Burdett Motorsport1:15.681
3022Jean Baptiste SimmenauerFRAJD Motorsport1:16.869