Shwartzman withstands Defourny challenge to win Pau opener

Robert Shwartzman dominated race one at Pau - Credit: Antonin Vincent / DPPI

After starting on pole position, Robert Shwartzman led every lap at Pau to clinch his third victory of the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Championship season.

The victory ensured R-ace GP’s run of race victories extended to five in a row at the beginning of the season, with Shwartzman holding off the race long challenge of team-mate Max Defourny, ending 0.592 seconds clear at the chequered flag.

Defourny himself withstood a first corner attack from Gabriel Aubry to take his best result of the season so far, while the Tech 1 Racing driver dropped back from the Belgian but was able to keep Will Palmer behind him to claim the final spot on the podium.

Australian racer Alex Peroni finished where he started in fifth for Fortec Motorsports, with Sacha Fenestraz just behind him in sixth for Josef Kaufmann Racing.

Max Fewtrell was the best of the rookies in eighth for Tech 1 Racing ahead of Yifei Ye, while Raul Guzman and Daniel Ticktum completed the top ten.

The race was safety car free but not without incidents, with Sun Yue Yang, Henrique Chaves, Ghislain Cordeel and Jean Baptiste Simmenauer all retiring after hitting the barriers.

Red Bull Junior Neil Verhagen failed to take the start when his MP Motorsport car stalled on the way to the line, necessitating an additional formation lap while they cleared his car away, which reduced the race distance from 25 minutes to 23 as a result.

Pau Race 1 Result

110Robert ShwartzmanRUSR-ace GP20 Laps
29Max DefournyBELR-ace GP+0.592s
34Gabriel AubryFRATech 1 Racing+3.719s
48Will PalmerGBRR-ace GP+4.464s
517Alex PeroniAUSFortec Motorsports+5.584s
611Sacha FenestrazFRAJosef Kaufmann Racing+7.764s
77Max FewtrellGBRTech 1 Racing+9.825s
81Yifei YeCHNJosef Kaufmann Racing+13.294s
912Raul GuzmanMEXR-ace GP+14.677s
1033Daniel TicktumGBRArden Motorsport+15.631s
1130Jarno OpmeerNEDMP Motorsport+21.021s
1223Aleksandr VartanyanRUSJD Motorsport+21.455s
1329Richard VerschoorNEDMP Motorsport+24.026s
1415Axel MatusMEXAVF by Adrian Valles+33.181s
155Thomas MaxwellAUSTech 1 Racing+33.975s
1626Presley MartonoINOMark Burdett Motorsport+37.223s
1718Aleksey KorneevRUSFortec Motorsports+38.019s
182Luis LeedsAUSJosef Kaufmann Racing+43.994s
1993Zane GoddardAUSArden Motorsport+44.200s
2019Frank BirdGBRFortec Motorsports+45.695s
2114Rodrigo PfluckerPERAVF by Adrian Valles+46.005s
2225Julia PankiewiczPOLMark Burdett Motorsport+1:04.030s
2320Najiy Ayyad bin Abd RazakMALFortec Motorsports+1:04.141s
246Thomas NeubauerFRATech 1 Racing+1 Lap
RET21Sun Yue YangCHNJD MotorsportRetired
RET13Henrique ChavesPORAVF by Adrian VallesRetired
RET34Ghislain CordeelBELArden MotorsportRetired
RET22Jean Baptiste SimmenauerFRAJD MotorsportRetired
DNS31Neil VerhagenUSAMP MotorsportDid Not Start
DNS16Gregoire SaucySWIAVF by Adrian VallesDid Not Start