Troitskiy takes Sunday pole at wet Spa-Francorchamps

Nikita Troitskiy (seen here racing on Saturday) took pole position at Spa on Sunday - Credit: FOTOSPEEDY

Nikita Troitskiy secured his second EuroFormula Open pole position of 2017 as he took advantage of the wet conditions around Spa-Francorchamps on Sunday to hit the front.

Championship leader Harrison Scott was the early pacesetter around the Belgian track and was on top at the halfway point, but Troitskiy set a best time of 2:36.276s for his Drivex School team, while Scott dropped down the order to sixth as others were able to improve.

Joining Troitskiy on the front row is Fortec MotorsportsJannes Fittje, who ended up 0.301 seconds down on the Russian driver, while race one winner Ameya Vaidyanathan qualified third for Carlin, a further 0.138 seconds down but ended his session in barriers in the closing minutes, bringing out a session-ending red flag.

Matheus Iorio, who was the sole retirement during Saturday’s opening race after hitting the barriers at Pouhon, was an excellent fourth for Campos Racing, with Devlin De Francesco of Carlin fifth ahead of RP Motorsport’s Scott, who ended up 0.845 seconds off the pole time.

Thiago Vivacqua will start seventh Campos Racing, with RP Motorsport’s Alex Karkosik joining him on row four, while Tarun Reddy (Carlin) and Christian Hahn (Drivex School) completed the top ten, with Teo Martin Motorsport duo Eliseo Martinez Merono and Pedro Cardosa eleventh and twelfth.

Spa-Francorchamps Race 2 Qualifying Result

116Nikita TroitskiyRUSDrivex School2:36.276
218Jannes FittjeGERFortec Motorsport2:36.577
324Ameya VaidyanathanINDCarlin2:36.715
44Matheus IorioBRZCampos Racing2:36.778
517Devlin De FrancescoCANCarlin2:36.926
610Harrison ScottGBRRP Motorsport2:37.121
72Thiago VivacquaBRZCampos Racing2:37.363
811Alex KarkosikPOLRP Motorsport2:37.596
914Tarun ReddyINDCarlin2:37.707
1012Christian HahnBRZDrivex School2:37.844
1142Eliseo Martinez MeronoESPTeo Martin Motorsport2:38.023
1243Pedro CardosoBRZTeo Martin Motorsport2:38.088
131Petru FlorescuROMCampos Racing2:38.234
148Lodovico LauriniITARP Motorsport2:39.261
1522Daniel PronenkoRUSBVM Racing2:39.319
1621Alexey ChuklinUKRFortec Motorsport2:39.447
173Simo LaaksonenFINCampos Racing2:39.681