Yamaha celebrate 500 Grand Prix wins

Photo: Yamaha MotoGP

Maverick Vinales not only brought home a win for himself this weekend in Le Mans but also Yamaha’s 500th GP win overall.

Yamaha has taken 47 125cc wins, 165 250cc wins, 63 350cc wins, 120 500cc wins and an impressive 105 MotoGP wins. Some of the names that helped them achieve this incredible statistic include:

  • Valentino Rossi – 55 wins
  • Jorge Lorenzo – 44 wins
  • Phil Read – 39 wins
  • Eddie Lawson – 26 wins
  • Kenny Roberts – 24 wins

A full list of riders & their victories can be found here.

The team has set up a website, honouring the achievement and everyone that made it possible. It details all of the information you could possibly want to know and some great pictures from over the years.

Their first victory came in 1963 with Fumio Ito at the Spa-Francorchamps circuit in the 250 class. They took one victory only in that year but sprung into life in 1964 when Phil Read took 5 out of their 6 victories. And the only way was up from there, as Yamaha continued to nurture their talent and produce world class racers.

Yamaha has continued to impress year upon year, and we know that their winning streak will not be fizzling out anytime soon.