Armstrong Wins Chaotic Opening Race in Austria

Credit: Gruppe C Photography

While drivers struggled to keep it on the tarmac behind, it was Marcus Armstrong who took his first win of the year. The Prema Powerteam driver led from lights-to-flag at the Red Bull Ring ensuring seven winners from the opening seven races in ADAC Formula 4.

Chaos on the opening lap brought out an early red flag, with a number of drivers being forced to retire. This held proceedings up by 15 minutes.

As the field had headed down to the second corner, Sebastian Fernandez touched the Van Amersfoort Racing car, breaking off his front wheel and sending the Bhaitech machine into the barrier.

Further around, the Neuhauser Racing machine of Andreas Estner hit Oliver Soderstrom causing a chain reaction of collisions behind at the third turn. A number of cars retired while being stuck in the gravel or contact with the stranded Soderstrom.

After much delay, polesitter Armstrong led the field back away with Michael Waldherr defending his second place from Jonathan Aberdein and five others.

Aberdein’s run came to end just two turns later though as he was spun and driven off the track by Juan Manuel Correa. Aberdein would return to the track, but was now last.

With another safety car called for further minor incidents, the race became a survival of the fittest as Armstrong once again led Waldherr, with Juri Vips now promoted to third.

This time it was Vips the man under pressure, with Nicklas Nielsen slipping into a podium position due to Vips’ defending of Kami Laliberte.

Despite the carnage behind, it was untouchable performance from Marcus Armstrong, who took his first ADAC F4 win of the year, ensuring it’s seven winners from seven races. Waldherr would hang on to second as Nielsen took an opportune third.

Vips failed to benefit from the issues for those around them, as Laliberte held off Lorenzo Colombo. Behind them, Lirim Zendeli recovered from a disasterous qualifying by taking seventh with Kim-Luis Schramm, debutante Kush Maini and David Malukas concluded the top ten.

The second corner incident took out six drivers and damaged a few others (Credit: ADAC Motorsports)