Martin Dodges the Traffic to Take Catalan Pole

Jorge Martin - Photo Credit:

Jorge Martin made a mockery of the frantic Moto3 pack racing by riding solo to take pole position for the Catalan Grand Prix. The session ended in farcical scenes with the majority of the field running together to find a slipstream but Martin ran all on his own, before proceeding to take his fifth pole in seven races.

Aron Canet had been the fastest rider throughout Friday practice and despite the minor alteration to the circuit layout, the Estrella Galicia rider was the man to beat early in qualifying, opening up a half-second advantage over the rest of the field. Although the likes of Martin started to close the gap, Aron headed into the pits with provisional pole in his pocket.

With less than ten minutes remaining, a hush descended over Montmelo with all 32 riders sat in their garages, waiting for one other to venture out. True to form, the protagonists reappeared as one with four minutes to go but with so many cruising around their out laps trying to find the ideal rider to follow, nobody was able to get in more than a solitary lap.

Several made improvements with championship leader Joan Mir climbing into the top three but Martin, who had hung back in order to have a clear circuit, put the rest of the field to shame with a 1:53.365, six tenths faster than anybody else to secure his third straight pole.

Canet held onto second with Mugello podium finisher Juanfran Guevara grabbing third ahead of Romano Fenati, another rider who avoided traffic in the dying seconds. Mir dropped to fifth with Marcos Ramirez completing the second row while Enea Bastianini, Fabio Di Giannantonio and Tatsuki Suzuki will line up on row three.


Moto3 Gran Premi Monster Energy de Catalunya – Qualifying Result

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
188. Jorge MartinHondaDel Conca Gresini Moto31:53.365
244. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:53.995
358. Juanfran GuevaraKTMRBA BOE Racing Team1:54.027
45. Romano FenatiHondaMarinelli Rivacold Snipers1:54.031
536. Joan MirHondaLeopard Racing1:54.036
642. Marcos RamirezKTMPlatinum Bay Real Estate1:54.126
733. Enea BastianiniHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:54.151
821. Fabio Di GiannantonioHondaDel Conca Gresini Moto31:54.201
924. Tatsuki SuzukiHondaSIC58 Squadra Corse1:54.316
1023. Niccolo AntonelliKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:54.331
1119. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA BOE Racing Team1:54.379
1248. Lorenzo Dalla PortaMahindraMAHINDRA Northgate Aspar1:54.395
1314. Tony ArbolinoHondaSIC58 Squadra Corse1:54.421
148. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR461:54.436
1564. Bo BendsneyderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:54.474
1627. Kaito TobaHondaHonda Team Asia1:54.535
1765. Philipp OettlKTMSüdmetall Schedl GP Racing1:54.589
1816. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR461:54.826
1917. John McPheeHondaBritish Talent Team1:54.876
2071. Ayumu SasakiHondaSIC Racing Team1:54.899
2195. Jules DaniloHondaMarinelli Rivacold Snipers1:54.917
2240. Darryn BinderKTMPlatinum Bay Real Estate1:55.018
2311. Livio LoiHondaLeopard Racing1:55.141
2441. Nakarin AtiratphuvapatHondaHonda Team Asia1:55.149
2512. Marco BezzecchiMahindraCIP1:55.158
2696. Manuel PaglianiMahindraCIP1:55.197
2763. Vicente PerezKTMReale Avintia Academy1:55.218
286. Maria HerreraKTMAGR Team1:55.561
2984. Jakub KornfeilPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint1:55.611
307. Adam NorrodinHondaSIC Racing Team1:55.625
3181. Aleix ViuKTM42 Motorsport1:56.490
324. Patrik PulkkinenPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint1:56.672