Martin Strikes Late to Snatch Mugello Pole

1 Mins read
Jorge Martin - Photo Credit:

Jorge Martin claimed his fourth pole in six races after a sensational late burst in qualifying at Mugello. The Spaniard was able to find the most time in a frantic finish to the session as several riders improved, Martin edging out British Talent Team rider John McPhee and championship leader Joan Mir.

With Mugello’s long home straight putting a large premium on a slipstream, the riders were often seen venturing out together to find themselves a tow. Joan Mir didn’t have much opportunity to utilise it in the early stages though after crashing at San Donato before he had even put a lap time on the board. He wasn’t the only rider to hit trouble though, with Nicolo Bulega highsiding at turn twelve on his fourth lap.

Mir finally re-joined the action with fifteen minutes to go, at which stage the two Gresini riders were trading pole position times. Fabio Di Giannantonio had made the early running with a 1:57.818 and although Martin usurped him thirteen minutes from time, Fabio responded immediately to ensure he would hold top spot ahead of the final runs.

McPhee had barely figured in the top ten through the entire session but a perfectly timed slipstream allowed the Briton to vault all the way up to first on his final lap, clocking a 1:57.324, while Mir was circulating close behind, jumping from 22nd to second with a 1:57.370. Martin would have the last word though, and although he didn’t benefit from a slipstream on the run to the line, Jorge had enough time in hand to claim pole by 0.148s.

Di Giannantonio, the long-time polesitter, fell to fourth ahead of Bulega who recovered from his early crash to qualify fifth. Juanfran Guevara starts sixth ahead of Romano Fenati and the ever-impressive Marcos Ramirez while Bo Bendsneyder and Tatsuki Suzuki complete the top ten.

Moto3 Gran Premio d’Italia Oakley – Qualifying Result

[table id=2049 /]

5101 posts

About author
MotoGP, Moto2, Moto3 and WorldSBK writer for The Checkered Flag. Contact: [email protected]
Related posts

MotoGP: Dorna CEO Carmelo Ezpeleta updates on 2020

3 Mins read
Dorna CEO updates on 2020: we’re trying to maintain the races, which is the most important thing.

MotoGP: German, Dutch and Finnish Grand Prix cancelled

1 Mins read
The German, Dutch and Finnish Grand Prix are cancelled due to the coronavirus outbreak.

Arenas snatches victory in a spectacular Moto3 season opener

1 Mins read
Albert Arenas claimed an incredible victory to kick off the 2020 Moto3 Championship