Migno Makes Breakthrough in Mugello Classic

Andrea Migno - Photo Credit: Sky Racing Team VR46

Andrea Migno took a remarkable maiden Moto3 victory in an Italian Grand Prix which will go down as an all-time classic. In true Mugello fashion, slipstreaming was the name of the game in a sensational group fight with just over three seconds covering the first 21 riders across the finish line, Migno beating Fabio Di Giannantonio by 0.037s.

The headlines after qualifying surrounded Jorge Martin who saw pole position stripped from him after being adjudged to have ridden too slowly on the racing line during qualifying. The Spaniard was relegated to thirteenth but made light of his punishment in the early laps, slicing through the field to lead by the end of lap four.

Martin wouldn’t be the only rider to enjoy a spell at the front with no fewer than ten men leading across the line at stage in proceedings. Di Giannantonio was never far from the sharp end and looked to make the decisive move with two laps remaining, winning the battle on the brakes into San Donato. Juanfran Guevara had other ideas though, diving straight past into turn two, ensuring he would lead into the last lap.

Di Giannantonio looked to repeat his move from a lap prior but he hadn’t bargained for the bravery of Migno who outbraked his compatriot into San Donato. The sprint to the finish line would prove pivotal but Andrea’s exit from Bucine was just good enough to hold the Gresini rider off, ensuring a maiden win for Migno and KTM’s first success of the season.

Guevara took his first rostrum in third, denying Darryn Binder that honour, while Aron Canet edged out polesitter John McPhee for fifth to move second in the championship. Overall leader Joan Mir escaped with nine points for seventh after outdragging Ayumu Sasaki to the line with Marcos Ramirez and Nicolo Bulega rounding out a top ten covered by a mere 1.1 seconds. Early leader Martin was forced to settle for the final point in fifteenth, just four tenths further back.


Moto3 Gran Premio d’Italia Oakley – Race Result

116. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR4639:43.96325
221. Fabio Di GiannantonioHondaDel Conca Gresini Moto3+0.03720
358. Juanfran GuevaraKTMRBA BOE Racing Team+0.16616
440. Darryn BinderKTMPlatinum Bay Real Estate+0.36213
544. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+0.36411
617. John McPheeHondaBritish Talent Team+0.41910
736. Joan MirHondaLeopard Racing+0.5569
871. Ayumu SasakiHondaSIC Racing Team+0.7108
942. Marcos RamirezKTMPlatinum Bay Real Estate+0.7727
108. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR46+1.1256
1133. Enea BastianiniHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+1.2295
1264. Bo BendsneyderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+1.2614
135. Romano FenatiHondaMarinelli Rivacold Snipers+1.4613
1465. Philipp OettlKTMSüdmetall Schedl GP Racing+1.5242
1588. Jorge MartinHondaDel Conca Gresini Moto3+1.5531
1623. Niccolo AntonelliKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+1.858
1712. Marco BezzecchiMahindraCIP+2.259
187. Adam NorrodinHondaSIC Racing Team+2.272
1948. Lorenzo Dalla PortaMahindraMAHINDRA Northgate Aspar+2.319
2084. Jakub KornfeilPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint+3.053
2114. Tony ArbolinoHondaSIC58 Squadra Corse+3.476
2296. Manuel PaglianiMahindraCIP+11.162
2311. Livio LoiHondaLeopard Racing+17.713
2441. Nakarin AtiratphuvapatHondaHonda Team Asia+37.687
2527. Kaito TobaHondaHonda Team Asia+37.688
266. Maria HerreraKTMAGR Team+37.776
274. Patrik PulkkinenPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint+37.887
NC24. Tatsuki SuzukiHondaSIC58 Squadra Corse+1 Lap
NC75. Albert ArenasMahindraMAHINDRA Northgate Aspar+1 Lap
NC95. Jules DaniloHondaMarinelli Rivacold Snipers+11 Laps
NC30. Edoardo SintoniMahindra3570-MTA+13 Laps
NQ19. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA BOE Racing TeamInjured