Mir Snatches Crucial Catalunya Victory

Joan Mir - Photo Credit: MotoGP.com

Joan Mir stretched his Moto3 championship lead to 45 points with a last lap victory in the Catalunya Grand Prix. The Spaniard snatched the lead from Jorge Martin four corners from the finish to deny the Gresini rider his first Grand Prix win with Romano Fenati pushing him down to third.

Martin had looked the overwhelming pre-race favourite having taken his fifth pole position from seven races but Moto3 produced another pack-fight at the front, ensuring he would have to overcome seven close challengers to take his first victory. The drag race to turn one would often see Martin’s lead come under threat but heading into the last lap, he still had his nose in front.

Mir started the final lap back in fourth but the power of the slipstream enabled him to pass Enea Bastianini into turn one. Fenati was busy lining up Martin on the approach to turn ten but Mir seized the opportunity to catch the Italian napping, pinching second, and as the leading group entered the final chicane complex, Joan forced his way up the inside of Martin to secure a sensational victory.

Fenati took advantage of Mir’s opportunism to deprive Martin of second while Bastianini finished fourth, narrowly holding off Estrella Galicia team-mate Aron Canet. Marcos Ramirez flew the KTM flag once again in sixth ahead of Fabio Di Giannantonio while Andrea Migno charged through from twentieth on the grid to beat Sky VR46 team-mate Nicolo Bulega to eighth.


Moto3 Gran Premi Monster Energy de Catalunya – Race Result

136. Joan MirHondaLeopard Racing42:11.84625
25. Romano FenatiHondaMarinelli Rivacold Snipers+0.19120
388. Jorge MartinHondaDel Conca Gresini Moto3+0.27916
433. Enea BastianiniHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+0.46213
544. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+0.67411
642. Marcos RamirezKTMPlatinum Bay Real Estate+0.74010
721. Fabio Di GiannantonioHondaDel Conca Gresini Moto3+1.1439
816. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR46+1.3898
98. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR46+1.6627
1024. Tatsuki SuzukiHondaSIC58 Squadra Corse+1.8636
1123. Niccolo AntonelliKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+2.0885
1217. John McPheeHondaBritish Talent Team+5.6714
1365. Philipp OettlKTMSüdmetall Schedl GP Racing+8.6313
1412. Marco BezzecchiMahindraCIP+16.6032
1564. Bo BendsneyderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+17.0891
1671. Ayumu SasakiHondaSIC Racing Team+17.128
1758. Juanfran GuevaraKTMRBA BOE Racing Team+21.614
187. Adam NorrodinHondaSIC Racing Team+22.362
1948. Lorenzo Dalla PortaMahindraMAHINDRA Northgate Aspar+22.718
2096. Manuel PaglianiMahindraCIP+22.754
2141. Nakarin AtiratphuvapatHondaHonda Team Asia+22.888
2284. Jakub KornfeilPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint+23.376
2327. Kaito TobaHondaHonda Team Asia+24.243
2414. Tony ArbolinoHondaSIC58 Squadra Corse+33.334
2511. Livio LoiHondaLeopard Racing+33.396
266. Maria HerreraKTMAGR Team+41.707
274. Patrik PulkkinenPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint+1:10.768
2881. Aleix ViuKTM42 Motorsport+1:33.544
NC40. Darryn BinderKTMPlatinum Bay Real Estate+1 Lap
NC95. Jules DaniloHondaMarinelli Rivacold Snipers+1 Lap
NC19. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA BOE Racing Team+16 Laps
NC63. Vicente PerezKTMReale Avintia Academy+18 Laps