Sublime Scott continues Paul Ricard domination with Race 2 Pole

Harrison Scott took a dominant pole position at Paul Ricard - Credit: FOTOSPEEDY

Harrison Scott continued where he left off on Saturday by dominating qualifying for race two at the Circuit Paul Ricard on Sunday, clinching pole position by 0.857 seconds.

The RP Motorsport driver, a four-time race winner already in 2017 after just five races, will start the sixth race of the EuroFormula Open season from the front, with Scott the only driver to set a time below the 2 minute mark.

His 1:59.576s was more than enough to grab pole, with Nikita Troitskiy again his closest rival, but unlike on Saturday where he was within three-tenths of a second, the Drivex School driver was nowhere near his rival this time around.

As on Saturday, Jannes Fittje will start third for Fortec Motorsports, but he will be aiming for a podium finish this time around after losing out in race one to Ameya Vaidyanathan.

Alex Karkosik had his best qualifying performance of the season so far to place fourth on the grid for RP Motorsport, just ahead of Carlin duo Vaidyanathan and Devlin De Francesco, while Simo Laaksonen was the best placed of the Campos Racing quartet in seventh.

Christian Hahn, who had an eventful race on Saturday that saw a first lap tangle with Tarun Reddy and a couple of off-track moments, will start eighth for Drivex School, while Campos Racing’s Thiago Vivacqua and Petru Florescu complete the top ten.

Circuit Paul Ricard Race 2 Qualifying Result

110Harrison ScottGBRRP Motorsport1:59.576
216Nikita TroitskiyRUSDrivex School2:00.433
318Jannes FittjeGERFortec Motorsport2:00.444
411Alex KarkosikPOLRP Motorsport2:00.692
524Ameya VaidyanathanINDCarlin2:00.758
617Devlin De FrancescoCANCarlin2:01.045
73Simo LaaksonenFINCampos Racing2:01.114
812Christian HahnBRZDrivex School2:01.118
92Thiago VivacquaBRZCampos Racing2:01.140
101Petru FlorescuROMCampos Racing2:01.219
1142Eliseo Martinez MeronoESPTeo Martin Motorsport2:01.232
1214Tarun ReddyINDCarlin2:01.311
138Lodovico LauriniITARP Motorsport2:01.431
144Matheus IorioBRZCampos Racing2:01.519
1543Pedro CardosoBRZTeo Martin Motorsport2:01.666
1621Alexey ChuklinUKRFortec Motorsport2:02.449
1722Daniel PronenkoRUSBVM Racing2:02.464