Aubry takes maiden triumph after Dominant Hungaroring Display

Gabriel Aubry took his first Eurocup win on Sunday morning in Hungary - Credit: Francois Flamand / DPPI

Frenchman Gabriel Aubry became the second new winner of the weekend so far as he triumphed in race two at the Hungaroring on Sunday morning.

The Tech 1 Racing driver got the better start from second on the grid to jump ahead of polesitter Sacha Fenestraz, while Will Palmer also found a way passed to run second.

With Palmer delaying Fenestraz, Aubry was able to breakaway at the front, with the Tech 1 Racing driver securing his maiden triumph by 4.710 seconds.

After withstanding the pressure from Fenestraz, Palmer pulled away from the French-Argentine driver to secure second place for R-ace GP and an extension to his championship lead, with Fenestraz instead being forced to withstand pressure of his own from Max Defourny.

Despite the pressure the positions remained unchanged, with Fenestraz securing the final podium position for Josef Kaufmann Racing ahead of R-ace GP duo Defourny and Robert Shwartzman, while Max Fewtrell was the leading rookie finisher in sixth for Tech 1 Racing.

Yifei Ye was a strong seventh for Josef Kaufmann Racing, with the Chinese driver setting the fastest lap of the race, while Aleksandr Vartanyan of JD Motorsport was eighth ahead of race one winner Daniel Ticktum of Arden Motorsport, with Aleksey Korneev of Fortec Motorsports completing the top ten.

Again there were many problems with track limits during the race, with Henrique Chaves, Axel Matus, Thomas Neubauer and Richard Verschoor amongst those to take time penalties.

Hungaroring Race 2 Result

14Gabriel AubryFRATech 1 Racing27:21.805s
28Will PalmerGBRR-ace GP+4.710s
311Sacha FenestrazFRAJosef Kaufmann Racing+5.640s
49Max DefournyBELR-ace GP+6.010s
510Robert ShwartzmanRUSR-ace GP+6.563s
67Max FewtrellGBRTech 1 Racing+7.504s
71Yifei YeCHNJosef Kaufmann Racing+8.125s
823Aleksandr VartanyanRUSJD Motorsport+9.407s
933Daniel TicktumGBRArden Motorsport+9.960s
1018Aleksey KorneevRUSFortec Motorsports+10.074s
1131Neil VerhagenUSAMP Motorsport+13.853s
1216Thomas RandleAUSAVF by Adrian Valles+14.997s
1330Jarno OpmeerNEDMP Motorsport+17.851s
1493Zane GoddardAUSArden Motorsport+22.025s
1512Raul GuzmanMEXR-ace GP+24.015s
1617Alex PeroniAUSFortec Motorsports+24.401s
1713Henrique ChavesPORAVF by Adrian Valles+25.710s
1822Jean Baptiste SimmenauerFRAJD Motorsport+28.371s
1920Najiy Ayyad bin Abd RazakMALFortec Motorsports+29.528s
2030Bartlomiej MireckiPOLBM Racing Team+30.508s
2126Presley MartonoINOMark Burdett Motorsport+30.893s
2219Frank BirdGBRFortec Motorsports+33.045s
2334Ghislain CordeelBELArden Motorsport+33.600s
2425Julia PankiewiczPOLMark Burdett Motorsport+33.648s
255Thomas MaxwellAUSTech 1 Racing+34.405s
2615Axel MatusMEXAVF by Adrian Valles+39.008s
276Thomas NeubauerFRATech 1 Racing+41.928s
2821Sun Yue YangCHNJD Motorsport+42.595s
2929Richard VerschoorNEDMP Motorsport+49.937s
DNS2Luis LeedsAUSJosef Kaufmann RacingDid Not Start