Canet Steals Last Gasp Pole from Mir

by Louis Suddaby

Aron Canet defied a late rain shower to claim pole position for tomorrow’s German Grand Prix at the Sachsenring. The Spaniard usurped Joan Mir in the dying seconds with the championship leader kept waiting for his first pole position of the season.

In the early stages of qualifying, Tony Arbolino threatened an upset as the 16-year-old rookie moved into provisional pole, clocking a 1:27.228 with dark clouds gathering. The SIC58 rider was knocked off the top spot by Nicolo Bulega shortly before the halfway mark but Mir soon established his superiority, becoming the first rider to break the 1:27 barrier.

With rain now starting to fall, Mir looked to have a first pole position of the year in the bag, his team so confident that conditions wouldn’t improve that they were already congratulating their rider. A number of riders sitting in lowly grid positions opted to test out the conditions with five minutes to go and as soon as personal best sector times appeared on the screens, the entire field was forced back into action.

The most significant improvement of them all came from Canet who leapt from the second row to pole position, pulling out a quarter of a second on Mir. Bulega held onto a front row spot in third while Marcos Ramirez slipped back onto the second row in fourth, just ahead of Arbolino.

Romano Fenati starts sixth, although his position may be under threat after riding slowly as he gesticulated at his rivals, while Philipp Oettl leads the home challenge from seventh. Bo Bendsneyder lines up eighth with Enea Bastianini and John McPhee rounding out the top ten.


Moto3 GoPro Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland – Qualifying

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
144. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:26.688
236. Joan MirHondaLeopard Racing1:26.933
38. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR461:26.981
442. Marcos RamirezKTMPlatinum Bay Real Estate1:27.186
514. Tony ArbolinoHondaSIC58 Squadra Corse1:27.228
65. Romano FenatiHondaMarinelli Rivacold Snipers1:27.254
765. Philipp OettlKTMSüdmetall Schedl GP Racing1:27.284
864. Bo BendsneyderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:27.297
933. Enea BastianiniHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:29.307
1017. John McPheeHondaBritish Talent Team1:27.414
1158. Juanfran GuevaraKTMRBA BOE Racing Team1:27.450
1224. Tatsuki SuzukiHondaSIC58 Squadra Corse1:27.468
1311. Livio LoiHondaLeopard Racing1:27.505
147. Adam NorrodinHondaSIC Racing Team1:27.515
1519. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA BOE Racing Team1:27.528
1652. Danny KentKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:27.539
1740. Darryn BinderKTMPlatinum Bay Real Estate1:27.581
1812. Marco BezzecchiMahindraCIP1:27.636
1984. Jakub KornfeilPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint1:27.680
2027. Kaito TobaHondaHonda Team Asia1:27.731
2171. Ayumu SasakiHondaSIC Racing Team1:27.781
2296. Manuel PaglianiMahindraCIP1:27.782
2316. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR461:27.824
2448. Lorenzo Dalla PortaMahindraMahindra Gaviota Aspar1:27.899
2521. Fabio Di GiannantonioHondaDel Conca Gresini Moto31:27.944
2695. Jules DaniloHondaMarinelli Rivacold Snipers1:28.071
2741. Nakarin AtiratphuvapatHondaHonda Team Asia1:28.113
2831. Raul FernandezMahindraMahindra Gaviota Aspar1:28.134
296. Maria HerreraKTMAGR Team1:28.266
304. Patrik PulkkinenPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint1:28.806
3177. Tim GeorgiKTMFreudenberg Racing Team1:29.296
NQ88. Jorge MartinHondaDel Conca Gresini Moto3No Time

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More