Fantastic Fenestraz Dominates at the Red Bull Ring

Sacha Fenestraz dominated race two in Austria on Sunday - Credit: Gregory Lenormand / DPPI

Sacha Fenestraz dominated race two at the Red Bull Ring from pole position, surviving two interruptions from the safety car to extend his advantage in the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 championship to twenty-seven points.

The Josef Kaufmann Racing driver was unstoppable on Sunday, with a 1.8 second advantage being pulled out on the very first lap. From there on in, even with the two interruptions from the safety car, he was in complete control, eventually triumphing by 1.214 seconds from Will Palmer.

Palmer, although he was never a threat to Fenestraz, was also relatively secure in second place, with the R-ace GP driver taking advantage of a battle between Gabriel Aubry and Max Defourny at turn two on the opening lap to jump from up from fourth place.

Aubry kept the advantage over Defourny at the start, but the Belgian got a good run on the Frenchman but found himself on the outside of the turn, only for the Tech 1 Racing driver to lock his brakes and run wide, pushing the R-ace GP ace into the run-off, with Palmer taking advantage as a result.

Aubry withstood Defourny’s pressure before the Belgian found himself shuffled down the pack, with race one winner Max Fewtrell ending up pressurising his team-mate for the final spot on the podium, but the Briton was forced to settle for fourth, but it was certainly a breakthrough weekend in the series for the 2016 British F4 champion.

Defourny’s afternoon then went from bad to worse as he fell behind Daniel Ticktum into sixth, before a final lap mistake cost him two more positions, with both Thomas Randle and Yifei Ye getting passed on the run down to the chequered flag.

Robert Shwartzman had an equalling disappointing day to finish ninth, while the final point on offer went to Henrique Chaves, although only in fortuitous circumstances.

Richard Verschoor was running eighth but found himself on the outside of the battle between Ticktum and Randle, with the latter tapping the MP Motorsport driver into a spin, which left the Red Bull-backed Dutchman in the turn three gravel trap.

The first of the safety cars was deployed early on for a two-car crash between Presley Martano and Axel Matus at turn three that left both drivers stranded either side of the track. Martano will take a four-place grid drop for the first race of the Paul Ricard weekend at the end of August for the incident, with stewards determining that the Mark Burdett Motorsport driver was responsible for the clash.

The second safety car was required to retrieve the stranded car of Thomas Maxwell from the outside of turn two after he found himself making contact with Alex Peroni as the Tech 1 Racing driver found himself on the outside of two other cars – Peroni and Thomas Neubauer – only to end up with a broken suspension and out of the race after running out of room.

Red Bull Ring Race 2 Result

111Sacha FenestrazFRAJosef Kaufmann Racing16 Laps
28Will PalmerGBRR-ace GP+1.214s
34Gabriel AubryFRATech 1 Racing+2.353s
47Max FewtrellGBRTech 1 Racing+3.687s
533Daniel TicktumGBRArden Motorsport+5.641s
616Thomas RandleAUSAVF by Adrian Valles+5.827s
71Yifei YeCHNJosef Kaufmann Racing+6.058s
89Max DefournyBELR-ace GP+6.089s
910Robert ShwartzmanRUSR-ace GP+6.528s
1013Henrique ChavesPORAVF by Adrian Valles+6.701s
116Thomas NeubauerFRATech 1 Racing+8.991s
1217Alex PeroniAUSFortec Motorsports+10.435s
1322Jean Baptiste SimmenauerFRAJD Motorsport+11.045s
1418Aleksey KorneevRUSFortec Motorsports+11.110s
1523Aleksandr VartanyanRUSJD Motorsport+11.806s
1693Zane GoddardAUSArden Motorsport+12.441s
1721Sun Yue YangCHNJD Motorsport+13.163s
1812Raul GuzmanMEXR-ace GP+13.870s
1914Xavier LloverasESPAVF by Adrian Valles+14.732s
2025Julia PankiewiczPOLMark Burdett Motorsport+15.373s
2134Ghislain CordeelBELArden Motorsport+15.585s
2220Najiy Ayyad bin Abd RazakMALFortec Motorsports+16.108s
2319Frank BirdGBRFortec Motorsports+16.928s
242Luis LeedsAUSJosef Kaufmann Racing+19.280s
2531Neil VerhagenUSAMP Motorsport+1 Lap
26/RET29Richard VerschoorNEDMP Motorsport+2 Laps
RET30Jarno OpmeerNEDMP MotorsportRetired
RET5Thomas MaxwellAUSTech 1 RacingRetired
RET15Axel MatusMEXAVF by Adrian VallesRetired
RET26Presley MartonoINOMark Burdett MotorsportRetired