Formula Renault Eurocup

Fenestraz Leads the Pack in Second Nurburgring Qualifying

1 Mins read
Sacha Fenestraz was fastest in second qualifying at the Nurburgring - Credit: Marc de Mattia / DPPI

Sacha Fenestraz will start race two at the Nurburgring from pole position after dominating the second qualifying session of the day on Saturday.

The French-Argentine driver set the best time in his group in the split-qualifying, with his 1:54.741s comfortably enough to take pole, with Daniel Ticktum’s best time in the second group by 0.477 seconds.

Josef Kaufmann Racing drivers will start first and third on the grid, with Yifei Ye setting the second fastest time of the session behind team-mate Fenestraz, with Arden Motorsport’s Ticktum splitting the duo thanks to setting the pace in the other session.

Robert Shwartzman will start fourth on the grid for race two, but the R-ace GP driver ended his session with a spin into the gravel trap between turns five and six, which curtailed the session with seconds remaining on the clock.

Shwartzman’s R-ace GP team-mate Max Defourny will start fifth ahead of Tech 1 Racing’s Max Fewtrell, with Will Palmer and Gabriel Aubry seventh and eighth ahead of Aleksandr Vartanyan and Thomas Randle.

Race two will begin early on Sunday morning, with race one getting underway early Saturday evening.

Nurburgring Race 2 Qualifying Result

[table id=2239 /]

13729 posts

About author
Long time motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1 and the occassional other series. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
Formula Renault EurocupInterviews

Eurocup Rookie Champion Alex Quinn: “I did count myself very lucky to be on the grid in 2020”

4 Mins read
Speaking to The Checkered Flag, Alex Quinn says he was lucky to be on the grid for the 2020 Formula Renault Eurocup season before he went on to win the rookie title.
Formula Renault EurocupSeason Review

SEASON REVIEW: 2020 Formula Renault Eurocup - Victor Martins Finally Brings Home the Title

6 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2020 Formula Renault Eurocup season, a year where Victor Martins finally took the title in his third year in the championship.
Formula Renault Eurocup

Victor Martins ‘Very Confident for the Future’ after Clinching 2020 Formula Renault Eurocup Title

3 Mins read
Series champion Victor Martins and Rookie winner Alex Quinn reflect on their 2020 Formula Renault Eurocup triumphs.