Fenestraz Penalty Hands Aubry Second Win of the Weekend in Hungary

Gabriel Aubry profited from a penalty for Sacha Fenestraz to win race three - Credit: Francois Flamand / DPPI

Gabriel Aubry took his second win of the day at the Hungaroring on Sunday despite finishing second on the road, with Sacha Fenestraz taking a penalty for a false start.

Tech 1 Racing’s Aubry led from pole position into the first corner, and it was only on the restart following a safety car period – caused when Najiy Ayyad bin Abd Razak crashed his Fortec Motorsports machine at the top of hill after losing control and hitting the barriers – that Fenestraz was able to make a move for the lead.

However, news came through that the Josef Kaufmann Racing had been handed a ten-second time penalty for his start, meaning all Aubry had to do was stay within ten seconds of the French-Argentine driver to take the win, something he managed comfortably.

In fact Fenestraz dropped all the way down to eighth as a result of his penalty, with Robert Shwartzman assuming second place ahead of R-ace GP team-mates Max Defourny and Will Palmer, while Yifei Ye was the best placed rookie in fifth for Josef Kaufmann Racing, his first rookie victory of the season.

Aleksandr Vartanyan’s good weekend in Hungary concluded with a sixth place finish for the JD Motorsport driver, while Daniel Ticktum was seventh for Arden Motorsport, being classified just ahead of the penalised Fenestraz by 0.068 seconds.

British driver Max Fewtrell got the better of the battle between himself and Thomas Randle to take ninth for Tech 1 Racing, with the Australian taking the final place inside the top ten for AVF by Adrian Vallés.

Hungaroring Race 3 Result

14Gabriel AubryFRATech 1 Racing27:20.281s
210Robert ShwartzmanRUSR-ace GP+0.821s
39Max DefournyBELR-ace GP+2.508s
48Will PalmerGBRR-ace GP+4.373s
51Yifei YeCHNJosef Kaufmann Racing+5.083s
623Aleksandr VartanyanRUSJD Motorsport+6.325s
733Daniel TicktumGBRArden Motorsport+9.461s
811Sacha FenestrazFRAJosef Kaufmann Racing+9.529s
97Max FewtrellGBRTech 1 Racing+10.284s
1016Thomas RandleAUSAVF by Adrian Valles+10.808s
1118Aleksey KorneevRUSFortec Motorsports+14.060s
1230Jarno OpmeerNEDMP Motorsport+16.374s
1312Raul GuzmanMEXR-ace GP+16.752s
1422Jean Baptiste SimmenauerFRAJD Motorsport+17.252s
156Thomas NeubauerFRATech 1 Racing+17.951s
1613Henrique ChavesPORAVF by Adrian Valles+20.893s
1793Zane GoddardAUSArden Motorsport+21.495s
1829Richard VerschoorNEDMP Motorsport+22.798s
1917Alex PeroniAUSFortec Motorsports+23.980s
2030Bartlomiej MireckiPOLBM Racing Team+26.507s
2126Presley MartonoINOMark Burdett Motorsport+26.936s
225Thomas MaxwellAUSTech 1 Racing+27.759s
2315Axel MatusMEXAVF by Adrian Valles+28.823s
2431Neil VerhagenUSAMP Motorsport+29.321s
2534Ghislain CordeelBELArden Motorsport+29.840s
262Luis LeedsAUSJosef Kaufmann Racing+31.527s
2719Frank BirdGBRFortec Motorsports+31.940s
2821Sun Yue YangCHNJD Motorsport+35.584s
2925Julia PankiewiczPOLMark Burdett Motorsport+46.664s
RET20Najiy Ayyad bin Abd RazakMALFortec MotorsportsRetired