Fenestraz takes Race 2 Pole Despite Aubry Attack

Sacha Fenestraz and Gabriel Aubry set identical lap times in qualifying - Credit: Gregory Lenormand / DPPI

Sacha Fenestraz gained revenge on Max Defourny to take pole position for race two at the Red Bull Ring on Saturday morning, but the Josef Kaufmann Racing driver was forced to watch as Gabriel Aubry set the same time in the second group.

Fenestraz set the pace in the first fifteen-minute session with a best of 1:28.429s, but his former team-mate Aubry set an identical time in the second session, but the Tech 1 Racing driver will start second on the grid.

Defourny, who had taken pole position on Friday evening for race one, was unable to better Fenestraz this time around, ending 0.105 seconds back for R-ace GP, while the Belgian will be joined on the second row by team-mate Will Palmer.

Daniel Ticktum will start fifth for Arden Motorsport, with the Red Bull-backed driver ahead of R-ace GP’s current Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 championship leader Robert Shwartzman, while Thomas Randle left it late to take seventh on the grid for AVF by Adrian Vallés, ahead of Max Fewtrell of Tech 1 Racing.

Alex Peroni of Fortec Motorsports and Yifei Ye of Josef Kaufmann Racing will share row five, ahead of Henrique Chaves and Richard Verschoor, while many drivers again lost times due to track limits.

Red Bull Ring Race 2 Qualifying Result

111Sacha FenestrazFRAJosef Kaufmann Racing1:28.429
24Gabriel AubryFRATech 1 Racing1:28.429
39Max DefournyBELR-ace GP1:28.534
48Will PalmerGBRR-ace GP1:28.506
533Daniel TicktumGBRArden Motorsport1:28.639
610Robert ShwartzmanRUSR-ace GP1:28.564
716Thomas RandleAUSAVF by Adrian Valles1:28.888
87Max FewtrellGBRTech 1 Racing1:28.621
917Alex PeroniAUSFortec Motorsports1:29.065
101Yifei YeCHNJosef Kaufmann Racing1:28.651
1113Henrique ChavesPORAVF by Adrian Valles1:29.103
1229Richard VerschoorNEDMP Motorsport1:28.707
136Thomas NeubauerFRATech 1 Racing1:29.113
1418Aleksey KorneevRUSFortec Motorsports1:28.938
155Thomas MaxwellAUSTech 1 Racing1:29.163
1623Aleksandr VartanyanRUSJD Motorsport1:29.033
1731Neil VerhagenUSAMP Motorsport1:29.173
1893Zane GoddardAUSArden Motorsport1:29.465
192Luis LeedsAUSJosef Kaufmann Racing1:29.380
2026Presley MartonoINOMark Burdett Motorsport1:29.520
2122Jean Baptiste SimmenauerFRAJD Motorsport1:29.598
2212Raul GuzmanMEXR-ace GP1:29.592
2330Jarno OpmeerNEDMP Motorsport1:29.626
2415Axel MatusMEXAVF by Adrian Valles1:29.692
2514Xavier LloverasESPAVF by Adrian Valles1:29.798
2619Frank BirdGBRFortec Motorsports1:29.770
2721Sun Yue YangCHNJD Motorsport1:29.827
2834Ghislain CordeelBELArden Motorsport1:29.832
2920Najiy Ayyad bin Abd RazakMALFortec Motorsports1:29.847
3025Julia PankiewiczPOLMark Burdett Motorsport1:30.468