EuroFormula Open

Hyman grabs debut pole at wet Hungaroring, Scott penalised

1 Mins read
Raoul Hyman took pole position at the Hungaroring in a Campos Racing 1-2-3 - Credit: FOTOSPEEDY

Raoul Hyman continued his strong start to his EuroFormula Open career as he led a Campos Racing 1-2-3 in qualifying for race one at the Hungaroring on Saturday.

In a session that started with drivers on wets, the best lap times were reserved for after a red flag period, caused when Pedro Cardoso crashed his Teo Martin Motorsport machine at the top of the hill, with drivers able to make the switch to dry tyres as the track had dried enough to warrant the move.

Hyman, who had gone into the final stages at the very back of the field after having no fewer than SEVEN lap times up-to-then deleted due to track limit offences, came good when it mattered, setting a best time of 1:38.069s to take his maiden pole position at the very first time of asking.

Harrison Scott set the second fastest time of the session, but the RP Motorsport driver saw that time deleted, meaning the current championship leader and the winner of five of the first six races of the season has it all to do in this afternoon’s race, starting as he is down in fourteenth position.

Inheriting second place on the grid therefore will be Campos Racing’s Simo Laaksonen, albeit more than half-a-second down on Hyman, while Thiago Vivacqua made it a good session for the team to qualify third on the grid, ahead of RP Motorsport’s Alex Karkosik.

Jannes Fittje will start fifth for Fortec Motorsports ahead of Drivex School’s Nikita Troitskiy, while Carlin’s Ameya Vaidyanathan, the only other race winner in 2017, is only seventh ahead of Campos’ Matheus Iorio, Carlin’s Tarun Reddy and Fortec’s Petru Florescu.

Another driver to fall foul of track limits was Carlin’s Devlin De Francesco, who’s best time of 1:39.547s was deleted, meaning he will start at the very back of the field this afternoon.

Hungaroring Race 1 Qualifying Result

[table id=2170 /]

Related posts
EuroFormula Open

Ye Secures Double Victory at the Red Bull Ring, Maldonado Takes First EuroFormula Open Podiums

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye has now won five out of six races to start the 2020 EuroFormula Open season after a double victory at the Red Bull Ring.
EuroFormula Open

Dunner, Ye Continue Positive Start to 2020 for CryptoTower Racing

3 Mins read
CryptoTower Racing took both victories as the EuroFormula Open series hit the Circuit Paul Ricard in France for round two of 2020.
EuroFormula Open

Ye Welcomes in New Era of EuroFormula Open with Double Victory in Hungary

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye had a perfect weekend at the Hungaroring as the 2020 EuroFormula Open season finally got underway.

Leave a Reply