EuroFormula Open

Scott denies Troitskiy Pole Position at the Hungaroring

1 Mins read
Harrison Scott took his fifth pole in eight races on Sunday in Hungary - Credit: FOTOSPEEDY

Harrison Scott secured his fifth EuroFormula Open pole position of the season on Sunday, denying Nikita Troitskiy by just 0.078 seconds at the Hungaroring.

The RP Motorsport driver had his worst result of the season during Saturday’s opener, claiming only ninth after starting fourteenth due to losing his best time due to track limit offences, but this time he had no issues and took pole with a best time of 1:36.130s.

Troitskiy, who has two pole positions to his name so far in 2017 himself, ended up second with a 1:36.208s for Drivex School, while Devlin De Francesco, who started last on Saturday thanks to more track limit issues, will be much happier on Sunday to qualify third for Carlin.

Another driver who will be happy will be Eliseo Martinez Merono, who will start an excellent fourth for Teo Martin Motorsport, just ahead of Raoul Hyman, who could not add race two pole to the one he earned on Saturday, but the South African was able to out-qualify Campos Racing team-mates Simo Laaksonen and Thiago Vivacqua, the drivers who finished second and first respectively on Saturday.

Alex Karkosik will start eighth for RP Motorsport ahead of a disappointed Ameya Vaidyanathan of Carlin, while Petru Florescu of Fortec Motorsports completes the top ten.

Hungaroring Race 2 Qualifying Result

[table id=2187 /]

12243 posts

About author
Thirty-something motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1, Formula Renault 2.0 and Formula 3. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
EuroFormula Open

Ye Secures Double Victory at the Red Bull Ring, Maldonado Takes First EuroFormula Open Podiums

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye has now won five out of six races to start the 2020 EuroFormula Open season after a double victory at the Red Bull Ring.
EuroFormula Open

Dunner, Ye Continue Positive Start to 2020 for CryptoTower Racing

3 Mins read
CryptoTower Racing took both victories as the EuroFormula Open series hit the Circuit Paul Ricard in France for round two of 2020.
EuroFormula Open

Ye Welcomes in New Era of EuroFormula Open with Double Victory in Hungary

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye had a perfect weekend at the Hungaroring as the 2020 EuroFormula Open season finally got underway.