Shwartzman denies Defourny Opening Nurburgring Pole

Robert Shwartzman took pole position for race one at the Nurburgring - Credit: Francois Flamand / DPPI

Robert Shwartzman stormed to a third pole position of the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series season after setting the pace in qualifying for race one at the Nurburgring on Saturday morning.

With a season-high thirty-one cars racing this weekend, qualifying was split into two groups, and it was the R-ace GP driver who set the best time of the whole session in Group B, with his 1:54.750s denying Group A pacesetter and team-mate Max Defourny by 0.713 seconds.

Daniel Ticktum, who became the first rookie driver to take an outright victory in 2017 last time out at the Hungaroring, will start third, with the Red Bull-backed Arden Motorsport driver being joined on the second row by Josef Kaufmann Racing’s Sacha Fenestraz, with both drivers finishing second fastest in their respective groups.

Max Fewtrell will start fifth on the grid for Tech 1 Racing ahead of Yifei Ye of Josef Kaufmann Racing, while Gabriel Aubry of Tech 1 Racing, twice a winner at the Hungaroring two weeks ago, will share row four with AVF by Adrian Vallés’ Portuguese racer Henrique Chaves.

Australian racer Thomas Randle, also of AVF by Adrian Vallés, will start ninth, with current championship leader Will Palmer of R-ace GP completing the top ten. The Briton will need to have a good race however if he is to deny Shwartzman the advantage in the standings, with just five points separating the team-mates heading into race one.

The Eurocup competitors will have a second qualifying session on Saturday afternoon before taking to the track for race one towards the end of the day.

Nurburgring Race 1 Qualifying Result

110Robert ShwartzmanRUSR-ace GP1:54.750
29Max DefournyBELR-ace GP1:55.463
333Daniel TicktumGBRArden Motorsport1:55.123
411Sacha FenestrazFRAJosef Kaufmann Racing1:55.491
57Max FewtrellGBRTech 1 Racing1:55.240
61Yifei YeCHNJosef Kaufmann Racing1:55.761
74Gabriel AubryFRATech 1 Racing1:55.514
813Henrique ChavesPORAVF by Adrian Valles1:55.903
916Thomas RandleAUSAVF by Adrian Valles1:55.866
108Will PalmerGBRR-ace GP1:55.998
112Luis LeedsAUSJosef Kaufmann Racing1:55.987
1293Zane GoddardAUSArden Motorsport1:56.114
136Thomas NeubauerFRATech 1 Racing1:56.193
1423Aleksandr VartanyanRUSJD Motorsport1:56.190
1530Jarno OpmeerNEDMP Motorsport1:56.195
1617Alex PeroniAUSFortec Motorsports1:56.316
175Thomas MaxwellAUSTech 1 Racing1:56.228
1818Aleksey KorneevRUSFortec Motorsports1:56.378
1931Neil VerhagenUSAMP Motorsport1:56.258
2012Raul GuzmanMEXR-ace GP1:56.563
2129Richard VerschoorNEDMP Motorsport1:56.309
2240Charles MilesiFRAR-ace GP1:56.751
2322Jean Baptiste SimmenauerFRAJD Motorsport1:56.561
2426Presley MartonoINOMark Burdett Motorsport1:56.864
2520Najiy Ayyad bin Abd RazakMALFortec Motorsports1:56.634
2615Axel MatusMEXAVF by Adrian Valles1:56.897
2721Sun Yue YangCHNJD Motorsport1:56.713
2819Frank BirdGBRFortec Motorsports1:56.932
2941Theo CoicaudFRAR-ace GP1:56.839
3025Julia PankiewiczPOLMark Burdett Motorsport1:56.935
3134Ghislain CordeelBELArden Motorsport1:57.247