Shwartzman Takes Championship Lead with Nurburgring Triumph

Robert Shwartzman celebrates after his fourth win of 2017 on Saturday - Credit: Marc de Mattia / DPPI

Robert Shwartzman took over at the top of the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series championship standings after a lights-to-flag victory at the Nurburgring on Saturday.

The R-ace GP ace kept the lead from pole position at the start, while Daniel Ticktum attempted to grab second from Max Defourny, only to be rebuked at turn three, with the Belgian then holding onto the tail of his team-mate until the chequered flag.

Shwartzman eventually saw the chequered flag at the end of 14 laps with an advantage of just 0.615 seconds from Defourny, while Sacha Fenestraz made a great move around the outside of Ticktum to grab third for Josef Kaufmann Racing at turn eleven early on.

There was a little bit of controversy a little late on when Ticktum, whilst defending from Max Fewtrell heading into the chicane at the end of lap, run across the grass and appeared to gain a large advantage, with the Red Bull-backed Arden Motorsport driver ultimately finishing fourth.

The stewards looked at the incident and decided to issue Ticktum with a five second time penalty, but with the gap behind to his competitors as it was, the Briton was able to retain his fourth place.

Fewtrell will be angry with the whole affair, and also with the fact that Henrique Chaves found a way passed the Tech 1 Racing driver to take fifth, and despite pressurising the AVF by Adrian Vallés driver until the chequered flag, he was forced to settle for sixth when fourth was definitely on the cards.

Yifei Ye was seventh for Josef Kaufmann Racing ahead of Will Palmer, who made up two places on the opening lap but got no further, and as a result he lost the championship lead to his R-ace GP team-mate Shwartzman.

Gabriel Aubry did not have the same kind of pace that took him to took race victories two weeks ago in Hungary, finishing ninth for Tech 1 Racing, while Zane Goddard finished ahead of fellow Australian Thomas Randle to claim the final point for Arden Motorsport.

Nurburgring Race 1 Result

110Robert ShwartzmanRUSR-ace GP14 Laps
29Max DefournyBELR-ace GP+0.615s
311Sacha FenestrazFRAJosef Kaufmann Racing+5.925s
433Daniel TicktumGBRArden Motorsport+6.712s
513Henrique ChavesPORAVF by Adrian Valles+12.442s
67Max FewtrellGBRTech 1 Racing+12.870s
71Yifei YeCHNJosef Kaufmann Racing+13.524s
88Will PalmerGBRR-ace GP+14.133s
94Gabriel AubryFRATech 1 Racing+14.657s
1093Zane GoddardAUSArden Motorsport+15.799s
1116Thomas RandleAUSAVF by Adrian Valles+18.797s
1223Aleksandr VartanyanRUSJD Motorsport+19.640s
1317Alex PeroniAUSFortec Motorsports+20.061s
142Luis LeedsAUSJosef Kaufmann Racing+24.367s
156Thomas NeubauerFRATech 1 Racing+25.010s
1630Jarno OpmeerNEDMP Motorsport+26.428s
1718Aleksey KorneevRUSFortec Motorsports+26.773s
1831Neil VerhagenUSAMP Motorsport+27.417s
1915Axel MatusMEXAVF by Adrian Valles+30.421s
2029Richard VerschoorNEDMP Motorsport+31.000s
2112Raul GuzmanMEXR-ace GP+31.592s
2222Jean Baptiste SimmenauerFRAJD Motorsport+32.439s
235Thomas MaxwellAUSTech 1 Racing+33.249s
2426Presley MartonoINOMark Burdett Motorsport+35.775s
2534Ghislain CordeelBELArden Motorsport+37.652s
2621Sun Yue YangCHNJD Motorsport+37.984s
2720Najiy Ayyad bin Abd RazakMALFortec Motorsports+38.240s
2825Julia PankiewiczPOLMark Burdett Motorsport+53.906s
2919Frank BirdGBRFortec Motorsports+55.144s
3041Theo CoicaudFRAR-ace GP+1:14.252s
RET40Charles MilesiFRAR-ace GPRetired