Formula Renault Eurocup

Ticktum surges to maiden pole at Wet Hungaroring

1 Mins read
Daniel Ticktum will start race one from pole position in Hungary - Credit: Octane Photographic Ltd

Daniel Ticktum took advantage of the favourable weather conditions that Group B had during qualifying at the Hungaroring to secure his maiden Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series pole position on Saturday morning.

A wet track greeted the thirty drivers, but the fifteen drivers in Group A had the worst of the conditions, and despite Sacha Fenestraz topping his session, the Josef Kaufmann Racing driver was forced to watch Group B go faster, which enabled Ticktum to grab pole position, the first in the series for both himself and his Arden Motorsport team.

Fenestraz will start second as a result of topping his group, while row two sees Gabriel Aubry of Tech 1 Racing alongside the impressive Thomas Randle, racing in the category for the first time this weekend for the AVF by Adrian Vallés squad, with both drivers having set the second best times in their respective sessions.

Max Defourny will start fifth for R-ace GP, but it was an otherwise disappointing session for the French team, with Robert Shwartzman eleventh and championship leader Will Palmer twenty-second after suffering with apparent technical issues during the session. The fourth R-ace GP car of Raul Guzman will line-up twenty-third.

Thomas Maxwell will line-up alongside Defourny in sixth for Tech 1 Racing, who saw Max Fewtrell crash out of the session, with the Briton set to start thirtieth and last as a result.

Aleksandr Vartanyan of JD Motorsport will start seventh ahead of the Red Bull-backed MP Motorsport duo of Richard Verschoor and Neil Verhagen, while Najiy Ayyad bin Abd Razak of Fortec Motorsports surprisingly completes the top ten.

Hungaroring Race 1 Qualifying Result

[table id=2169 /]

12260 posts

About author
Thirty-something motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1, Formula Renault 2.0 and Formula 3. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
Formula Renault EurocupInterviews

Eurocup Rookie Champion Alex Quinn: “I did count myself very lucky to be on the grid in 2020”

4 Mins read
Speaking to The Checkered Flag, Alex Quinn says he was lucky to be on the grid for the 2020 Formula Renault Eurocup season before he went on to win the rookie title.
Formula Renault EurocupSeason Review

SEASON REVIEW: 2020 Formula Renault Eurocup - Victor Martins Finally Brings Home the Title

6 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2020 Formula Renault Eurocup season, a year where Victor Martins finally took the title in his third year in the championship.
Formula Renault Eurocup

Victor Martins ‘Very Confident for the Future’ after Clinching 2020 Formula Renault Eurocup Title

3 Mins read
Series champion Victor Martins and Rookie winner Alex Quinn reflect on their 2020 Formula Renault Eurocup triumphs.