Ticktum withstands Fenestraz pressure to take Maiden Victory

Daniel Ticktum took his first Eurocup victory on Saturday in Hungary - Credit: Francois Flamand / DPPI

Daniel Ticktum took his first Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series victory in the opening race of the weekend at the Hungaroring, surviving two safety car periods and pressure from Sacha Fenestraz to give Arden Motorsport their first victory in the championship.

The Red Bull-backed Briton started from pole position for the first time and held onto the lead at the start despite the close attention of both Fenestraz and Gabriel Aubry, while behind the frontrunners there were a few incidents, with both Thomas Randle and Bartlomiej Mirecki retiring in separate incidents.

The safety car was deployed on the second lap after Luis Leeds was forced to retire with heavy damage after contact heading into turn two after contact, but Ticktum was able to control the restart, with Neil Verhagen making a great move on Aubry to take third.

However, the safety car was soon required once more when Thomas Maxwell, Richard Verschoor and Alex Peroni collided at turn one, and there was less than seven minutes remaining on the clock when the race resumed once more.

Ticktum kept the lead from Fenestraz, and despite pressure and a few attacks, the Arden driver was never headed until the chequered flag, securing victory by 0.916 seconds from the Josef Kaufmann Racing driver.

Verhagen secured his first podium finish with third for MP Motorsport, with the American’s appearance ensuring two of the three Red Bull-backed drivers in the championship were on the podium.

Aubry remained up on Verhagen’s tail until the chequered flag for Tech 1 Racing ahead of JD Motorsport’s Aleksandr Vartanyan, with AVF by Adrian Vallés’ Portuguese racer Henrique Chaves finishing sixth.

Robert Shwartzman was able to recover to seventh from his eleventh placed grid slot, but for R-ace GP team-mates Max Defourny and Will Palmer, it was a disappointing day, ending fourteenth and eighteenth respectively, with both struggling for pace.

Renault Sport Academy member Jarno Opmeer secured eighth for MP Motorsport ahead of Zane Goddard of Arden Motorsport, with Najiy Ayyad bin Adb Razak claiming tenth for Fortec Motorsports after original tenth placed finisher Yifei Ye was handed a post-race penalty for causing a collision that relegated him to the rear of the field.

Hungaroring Race 1 Result

133Daniel TicktumGBRArden Motorsport27:59.320
211Sacha FenestrazFRAJosef Kaufmann Racing+0.916s
331Neil VerhagenUSAMP Motorsport+3.985s
44Gabriel AubryFRATech 1 Racing+4.345s
523Aleksandr VartanyanRUSJD Motorsport+5.230s
613Henrique ChavesPORAVF by Adrian Valles+5.676s
710Robert ShwartzmanRUSR-ace GP+6.173s
830Jarno OpmeerNEDMP Motorsport+8.767s
993Zane GoddardAUSArden Motorsport+9.316s
1020Najiy Ayyad bin Abd RazakMALFortec Motorsports+13.238s
1134Ghislain CordeelBELArden Motorsport+14.707s
1212Raul GuzmanMEXR-ace GP+15.399s
137Max FewtrellGBRTech 1 Racing+23.033s
149Max DefournyBELR-ace GP+27.090s
1518Aleksey KorneevRUSFortec Motorsports+27.232s
1626Presley MartonoINOMark Burdett Motorsport+27.590s
176Thomas NeubauerFRATech 1 Racing+27.779s
188Will PalmerGBRR-ace GP+27.983s
1921Sun Yue YangCHNJD Motorsport+28.314s
2022Jean Baptiste SimmenauerFRAJD Motorsport+28.654s
2125Julia PankiewiczPOLMark Burdett Motorsport+29.173s
2215Axel MatusMEXAVF by Adrian Valles+30.679s
2319Frank BirdGBRFortec Motorsports+34.236s
241Yifei YeCHNJosef Kaufmann Racing+35.648s
RET17Alex PeroniAUSFortec MotorsportsRetired
RET29Richard VerschoorNEDMP MotorsportRetired
RET5Thomas MaxwellAUSTech 1 RacingRetired
RET2Luis LeedsAUSJosef Kaufmann RacingRetired
RET16Thomas RandleAUSAVF by Adrian VallesRetired
RET30Bartlomiej MireckiPOLBM Racing TeamRetired