Rodrigo Claims Remarkable Brno Pole

Gabriel Rodrigo - Photo Credit:

Gabriel Rodrigo claimed the first pole position of his Grand Prix career in incredible circumstances at Brno. The Argentine recovered from a crash at the start of the qualifying session and a subsequent trip to the medical centre to snatch pole in the dying seconds, despite having hardly any running during the forty minutes.

This morning’s practice session had been punctuated by crashes and qualifying began in similar fashion as Nicolo Bulega, the fastest man in FP3, took a tumble. Rodrigo was the next to go down with the RBA rider tangling with home favourite Jakub Kornfeil at the final corner. While Jakub continued back to the pits, Gabriel was forced to visit the medical centre without having registered a lap time.

Elsewhere, Romano Fenati was dominating the session having clocked a 2:09.218 early on but the traditional late rush was set to shake up the order. Juanfran Guevara, who was thought to be RBA’s only hope for pole position, leapt to the top of the leaderboard with ten seconds remaining but Fenati responded immediately, seemingly securing pole.

However, no-one had bargained for Rodrigo who set his first timed lap of the entire session as the chequered flag flew, setting a 2:08.571 to pip Fenati by a tenth of a second. Guevara held onto third, ensuring that the RBA squad will have both riders on the front row of the grid tomorrow. Championship leader Joan Mir starts fourth ahead of Bulega who shrugged off his own crash to take fifth with Bo Bendsneyder rounding out the second row.

Marcos Ramirez will go in search of a second consecutive podium from seventh with Fabio Di Giannantonio and Livio Loi alongside while Philipp Oettl completes the top ten.


Moto3 Monster Energy Grand Prix Ceske Republiky: Qualifying

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
119. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA BOE Racing Team2:08.571
25. Romano FenatiHondaMarinelli Rivacold Snipers2:08.721
358. Juanfran GuevaraKTMRBA BOE Racing Team2:08.874
436. Joan MirHondaLeopard Racing2:08.967
58. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR462:08.971
664. Bo BendsneyderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo2:08.991
742. Marcos RamirezKTMPlatinum Bay Real Estate2:09.043
821. Fabio Di GiannantonioHondaDel Conca Gresini Moto32:09.142
911. Livio LoiHondaLeopard Racing2:09.148
1065. Philipp OettlKTMSüdmetall Schedl GP Racing2:09.187
1171. Ayumu SasakiHondaSIC Racing Team2:09.348
1223. Niccolo AntonelliKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo2:09.358
1324. Tatsuki SuzukiHondaSIC58 Squadra Corse2:09.359
1416. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR462:09.361
1541. Nakarin AtiratphuvapatHondaHonda Team Asia2:09.479
1614. Tony ArbolinoHondaSIC58 Squadra Corse2:09.543
1744. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,02:09.547
1895. Jules DaniloHondaMarinelli Rivacold Snipers2:09.565
1917. John McPheeHondaBritish Talent Team2:09.583
2033. Enea BastianiniHondaEstrella Galicia 0,02:09.614
216. Maria HerreraKTMAGR Team2:09.698
2248. Lorenzo Dalla PortaMahindraMahindra Gaviota Aspar2:09.730
2327. Kaito TobaHondaHonda Team Asia2:09.762
2484. Jakub KornfeilPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint2:10.168
257. Adam NorrodinHondaSIC Racing Team2:10.176
2610. Dennis FoggiaKTMPlatinum Bay Real Estate2:10.198
2775. Albert ArenasMahindraMahindra Gaviota Aspar2:10.222
2896. Manuel PaglianiMahindraCIP2:10.578
2912. Marco BezzecchiMahindraCIP2:10.803
3077. Tim GeorgiKTMFreudenberg Racing Team2:10.841
314. Patrik PulkkinenPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint2:11.450
3218. Gabriel Martinez-AbregoKTMMotomex Team Moto32:12.424
NQ88. Jorge MartinHondaDel Conca Gresini Moto3Withdrawn