Rodrigo Secures Back-to-Back Moto3 Poles

by Louis Suddaby

Gabriel Rodrigo backed up his maiden Moto3 pole position at Brno by topping the timesheets once again in qualifying at the Red Bull Ring. The Argentine rider snatched pole position in a typically frantic finish to the session which saw traffic galore and a near-scuffle between Italian pair Romano Fenati and Fabio Di Giannantonio.

Having claimed his maiden victory here last season, dominant championship leader Joan Mir began the session as favourite, especially having topped FP3 earlier in the day. True to form, the Leopard rider returned to the pits after his first run in provisional pole position but while he regrouped, Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Bo Bendsneyder knocked two tenths off his benchmark.

The true fight for pole began with four minutes remaining as virtually the entire field poured out onto the track at once, recognising the need for a slipstream on a circuit featuring several long straights. In the case of Fenati though, the presence of Di Giannantonio proved more of a help than a hindrance with Romano seen furiously gesticulating at his compatriot after qualifying only eleventh.

Mir had followed Enea Bastianini to clock a 1:36.555 but Rodrigo was circulating close behind, enabling him to grab pole in the dying seconds on a 1:36.503. Juanfran Guevara claimed third to give the RBA team their second consecutive double-front row with Aron Canet qualifying fourth, just ahead of Bastianini and Britain’s John McPhee.

Bendsneyder failed to improve on his last run, slipping to seventh ahead of Andrea Migno and Philipp Oettl while Di Giannantonio held onto the last top ten spot, much to Fenati’s chagrin.


Moto3 NeroGiardini Motorrad Grand Prix von Osterreich: Qualifying

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
119. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA BOE Racing Team1:36.503
236. Joan MirHondaLeopard Racing1:36.555
358. Juanfran GuevaraKTMRBA BOE Racing Team1:36.615
444. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:36.690
533. Enea BastianiniHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:36.716
617. John McPheeHondaBritish Talent Team1:36.790
764. Bo BendsneyderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:36.793
816. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR461:36.811
965. Philipp OettlKTMSüdmetall Schedl GP Racing1:36.955
1021. Fabio Di GiannantonioHondaDel Conca Gresini Moto31:36.967
115. Romano FenatiHondaMarinelli Rivacold Snipers1:37.006
1211. Livio LoiHondaLeopard Racing1:37.020
1388. Jorge MartinHondaDel Conca Gresini Moto31:37.023
1415. Jaume MasiaKTMPlatinum Bay Real Estate1:37.099
157. Adam NorrodinHondaSIC Racing Team1:37.128
168. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR461:37.147
1723. Niccolo AntonelliKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:37.196
1871. Ayumu SasakiHondaSIC Racing Team1:37.309
1948. Lorenzo Dalla PortaMahindraMahindra Gaviota Aspar1:37.344
2075. Albert ArenasMahindraMahindra Gaviota Aspar1:37.348
2195. Jules DaniloHondaMarinelli Rivacold Snipers1:37.405
2241. Nakarin AtiratphuvapatHondaHonda Team Asia1:37.409
2342. Marcos RamirezKTMPlatinum Bay Real Estate1:37.607
2414. Tony ArbolinoHondaSIC58 Squadra Corse1:37.730
2512. Marco BezzecchiMahindraCIP1:37.871
2624. Tatsuki SuzukiHondaSIC58 Squadra Corse1:37.970
2727. Kaito TobaHondaHonda Team Asia1:38.099
2884. Jakub KornfeilPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint1:38.108
296. Maria HerreraKTMAGR Team1:38.131
3096. Manuel PaglianiMahindraCIP1:38.303
3113. Maximilian KoflerKTMMotorsport Kofler E.U.1:38.697
324. Patrik PulkkinenPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint1:38.816
3318. Gabriel Martinez-AbregoKTMMotomex Team Moto31:39.009

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More